Spread the Word

spreadthewordIt’s Saturday and you know what that means! Spread the Word! This feature was inspired by A Bookish Heart with her Bookish Friends feature. This is a weekly feature that I have started to shine the spotlight on other bloggers that have caught my eye. There are so many great bloggers out there that keep me giggling or thinking with their blog posts and it’s gotten to the point where I want to shout it to the world so that others can discover their greatness too.

I don’t ask them questions or anything like that as it can be time-consuming to the featured blogger who is busy…blogging. So instead I just go through their blog with a fine tooth comb and learn everything I can to share it all with you. Ready? Good! Excited? Me too!

Today I’ve decided to spotlight a blogger that I’ve gotten quite close to in a short amount of time. When I first discovered her blog I was excited by how much we seemed to have in common. She shared my love for the same kind of books, she was passionate about the same things and she’s not majoring in English like me (which seems to be rare in the world of book bloggers)!

dadfj;la

She is Becky @ Blogs-of-a-Bookaholic

I was browsing blogs under the book review category on WordPress when I saw a review she wrote for The Help by Kathryn Stockett which had me nodding my head eagerly in agreement. I clicked to learn more about this blogger that seemed to think the same way I did. After reading her about page I knew I had found another favorite blog.

hfkjfa;kj;

She didn’t try to make it seem like she was anything more than just an average girl who liked to read books. It was appealing, especially to me as this is how I feel about my blog: I’m still learning. I’m not the best writer, I’m not the smartest and there will be things in books that go over my head but like Becky, I’m here to blog about the books that I read. It’s as plain and simple as that and I loved that Becky told us so in plain words.

ufiuytoiqua

One of the things I love most about Becky’s blog is that it shows her eclectic tastes. She read a wide variety of books instead of focusing on only one genre like young adult, classics or the ever popular western sci-fy historical fiction genre.  She has the likes of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte to Inkheart by Cornelia Funke on her to-be-read list. Her reading taste knows no bounds and I admire that. This isn’t to say that focusing on one genre is bad, I myself as a reader like to have a broad range therefore I appreciate when someone shares this interest.

nvznv

Becky does not bow to peer pressure. She will always give her honest opinion of a book even if it means criticizing a book that is extremely popular– like The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. This was a book magnetized by the movie, everyone was proclaiming its brilliance. I haven’t read the book yet so I don’t know if any of it is justified but Becky definitely didn’t think so and she wasn’t afraid one bit of explaining how she felt. It’s hard to put your thoughts into words when you know they are not with the majority. You start questioning your opinion as if an opinion could be wrong, but not Becky. Becky will always let us know what she thinks whether it be good or bad and I rank that as a very important blogging aspect.

cvvzvc

Becky runs her own original meme. She calls is Quoting the Quill and it originated as a celebration of her 100th post! I know you’ve already surpassed this milestone Becky but CONGRATULATIONS! She runs this feature every other Wednesday and with it posts a certain quote that inspires her; the most recent quote was, “On the shelf or just opened, a book was all possibility, a wondrous box of paper that could contain anything.”  Here is why it inspired her:

jhgf

Becky is very active in the blogging community. It seems like every time I publish a post the orange icon appears moments later to say Becky has read it by either liking it or commenting. As a blogger it makes me happy to have a reader that enjoys coming back to my blog. Then I discovered that is wasn’t just my blog but many others. It seemed everywhere I went Becky had been there too and left her mark. She takes the time to let the reader know that she’s been there which is no easy task when you do that for a bajillion blogs. But she does and it makes her better blogger for it. After all, how do you expect to get readers if you aren’t willing to read other blogs? Becky knows the answer to that.

Here are a couple of random facts I’ve gathered from reading Becky’s blog:

  • She’s a big Sarah Dessen fan
  • Her favorite classic is Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  • Her favorite side character is Luna Lovegood
  • She’s in love with Aragorn from Lord of the Rings
  • She’s a fellow Land Before Time fan
  • She loves dinosaurs
  • Believes her daemon would be a cat

I urge every one to check out Becky’s blog, Blogs-of-a-Bookaholic! You’ll find a blogger full of personality who loves books and has a unique voice in the blogging world.

23 thoughts on “Spread the Word

  1. I too love reading Becky’s blog! She’s fantastic! I love this feature that you’re doing. Always a pleasure reading your blog. (Oh wow. Auto correct just changed ‘blog’ to ‘blood’. Glad I caught it. That could have been creepy…)

  2. Ohhh wow, wow, wow, I can’t tell you how surreal it feels to read all your amazing compliments!! Thank you so much Lindsey. 😀 I’m so happy you liked my blog enough to include it in your awesome meme and took the time to do it, I’m a bit at a loss for words….which doesn’t happen often, LOL.

    I love reading your blog and so many others. Being so active in the blogging world is so fun and it’s gotten to the point where it is hard to think of the lifetime when I wasn’t doing it. I learn so much from the blogging community every day, be it news or books knowledge and I love that. It has allowed me to get to know so many wonderful people, including yourself!

    THANK YOU MUCHLY.

      • Oh my goodness, thank you so much for sharing this with me! I checked out their site and it looks like they have reposted TONS of my posts without my consent or knowledge! I sent them a message saying take my content off but I don’t know if I’ll even get a reply because it looks like a phony site. I’m sorry that the post about you was taken without your permission. Hopefully they take it off because I’m clueless about what to do next if they don’t!

    • Awww I’m glad it makes you happy because you deserve it girl! You seriously have one awesome blog and I’m always checking it for your latest update. You’re also one of the kindest bloggers I have ever met and I feel so lucky that I got to know you! 🙂 Keep on blogging!

      • It makes me very, very happy. 😛 Awwwh, I’m so glad you think so! I try, I try. 😉

        Ohhh no that’s terrible! I was wondering if it was something like that. I was trying to search for an about page or something but I could find anything.

        No worries about my information, I’m more annoyed on your behalf! That’s YOUR hard work and effort that they’re using without permission! Hmmphh. I hope you manage to sort it out, keep me updated. 🙂

      • I was very surprised to find that I did get a quick response and it was actually professional. They apologized and said they would take my work down. I said next time if they ask permission I might let them put it up as long as they link back so I know that they did put it up. So crisis averted! Thank goodness they were nice about it otherwise I would have been totally lost on what to do next! 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic and commented:
    Hey guys!
    Somebody WAY TOO NICE FOR THEIR OWN GOOD has done a wonderful, blush worthy spotlight on my blog. I’m still reeling from all the wonderful comments, many thanks to Lindsey for doing it! It means the world. 😀

    Feel free to pop on over a take a look if you have the time!

    Happy reading. 🙂

  4. Yay!!! Great choice for today, Lindsey! I love Becky’s blog, too! It’s always a pleasure to read her blog and exchange opinions with her. And not to mention, I love that strange birdcage! I didn’t know that neither of you were studying English because, I’ll tell you, after studying it in college for 4 years, you two are way more passionate and articulate and observant and just overall fit for the degree than 99% of my fellow classmates were! That’s not to say that one has to be an English major to appreciate literature of course, but without a doubt, you’re both really smart and could handle the job with finesse. This is a wonderful blog feature you’ve created and you’re doing such a great job, Lindsey! Congrats Becky, and congrats Lindsey for another great post! 😀

  5. I love reading Becky’s blog too! and I completely agree with your comment “It seems like every time I publish a post the orange icon appears moments later to say Becky has read it by either liking it or commenting. As a blogger it makes me happy to have a reader that enjoys coming back to my blog.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

