Friday Favorites: Favorite Re-Covered Classics

Friday Favorites 02I stumbled upon this meme at the adorable blog, Tessa’s Wishful Endings. Really it’s as simple as the name; you talk about a favorite book related subject on Fridays. It could be anything from favorite authors, books and genres to favorite reading spots, opening sentences and love triangles. Basically the world of novels is our oyster and with Friday Favorites, we can conquer it.

Favorite Re-Covered Classics

Most of us are very protective of our beloved classics, so it takes a brave soul indeed to dare reinvent the look of our timeless tales. But some did dare and produced amazing results. There’s also the need to keep up with modern society, which is now a very visual one. With monitors everywhere, it is what is eye catching that matters most now and publishers are aware of that. So the classics got a new look and here are some of my favorites.

P.S.– Click on their picture to be taken to The Creative Action Network which sells these re-covered classics.

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

oz 1oz 2oz 3oz 4

Dracula

dracula 1dracula 2dracula 3dracula 4

Frankenstein

frank 1frank 2frank 3frank 4

The Metamorphosis

bug 1bug 2bug 3bug 4

Through the Looking Glass

alice 1alice 2alice 3alice 4

Moby Dick

moby 1moby 2moby 3moby 4

Which one is your favorite? Share below and happy reading!

 

 

13 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: Favorite Re-Covered Classics

    • I know, I loved the simplicity of the white cover of Dracula, because that’s really all you need to send shivers down your spine.

      I know, Metamorphosis is REALLY creepy! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  1. Like others the Dracula ones are my favorites but these are really cool. I do wish the white Dracula cover had a little blood running from the two puncture holes.

    I really liked this post, sounds like a fun meme

  2. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: March 3rd-8th |

  3. I adore recovered classics, I just went to the book store today and love checking out the classics section to see what’s on offer. One of my favourite recovered classics are the Penguin Clothbound Hardbacks, they are so pretty! I love Vintage Classics as well, check out the cover of Frankenstein.

    • I know! I actually own the Penguin Cloth Hardbound editions for Jane Austen’s works and Edgar Allen Poe’s works and they are gorgeous! I’ll need to share a photo sometime. Thank for reading! 🙂

  4. Wow, I actually hadn’t seen ANY of these editions before, so thanks for the bookish eye candy! I especially like the second Through the Looking Glass one. It’s so hard to resist buying up multiple editions of books, publishers are pretty clever to keep reissuing beloved books because they KNOW how weak we are, hah.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

Leave a Reply

