Bloggin’ Recap: March 3rd-8th

bloggin'recap

It’s Sunday, the beginning of a new week so that means it’s time for a Bloggin’ Recap. A feature inspired by A Bookish Heart. Every Sunday I’ll get the chance to tell you what’s going on in my life, what I’ve posted for the week, what to expect in the upcoming week and posts I enjoyed from other bloggers.

In Real Life

This week I got my very first library card! Yes, you read it correctly, my FIRST library card. See the thought of returning books after I read them was always too heartbreaking to bear so the library seemed like a horrible place. The book store was my sanctuary, it exuded a brightness the library did not have.

But then I realized that I was buying books that I ended up not enjoying. I can’t stand the thought of missing out on a book I KNOW I would enjoy because I spent my money on one that I DIDN’T enjoy. Suddenly, the library looked a whole lot better. Three days later, I had my very own library card! Isn’t it beautiful?

librarycard.jpg

I’ve already put in a request for Jack London’s White Fang on audio book. I’ve never tried audio books but I’ve been falling behind on my reading schedule lately so I figured I’d give them a try. I’m still a bit nervous though, it sounds like a completely different experience than holding a book in my hand and I’m worried that I won’t like it.

How do you feel about audio books?

What I’ve Posted This Week:

Posts to Look Forward to this Week:

  • When I’m Not Blogging or Reading I’m…
  • Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • The Hype Monster
  • Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

Posts from Blogging Buddies I’ve Enjoyed:

Misc.

Personal

Blogging

Recap Posts

On Writing

Bookish

12 thoughts on “Bloggin’ Recap: March 3rd-8th

  1. I empathize with your stance on the library versus bookstore dilemma. I view my bookshelf as a timeline of all the books I have read. I think part of my reason for avoiding a library is that I want to own every book I read, and second is that I just love hanging out in my local Barnes & Noble. Most guys choose to unwind at Best Buy or Home Depot. Nope, I’m at B&N whenever I get the chance, even if I’m not in the market for a book (which isn’t often) 😉

    I must say that I have never attempted listening to a work of fiction. Maybe you’ve just inspired me to give it a go. It looks like I may just have to dig that library card out of my wallet after all 😉

    • Thanks for sharing Dave, it’s comforting to know I wasn’t the only one that felt that way. I too love to own all the books I read, even a few of the bad ones because each book contains a memory within.

      Thanks for sharing, I’ll let you know how my audio book experience goes! 😉

  2. Wow, congrats on the first library card! I have longed loved the library, but as review books have been keeping my busier, I have ended up returning some books unread. Doing so is always a source of sadness and has made me appreciate owning books more. At the same time, because of the library and increasing access to review copies as I blog more, I read almost completely for free. This year, I think the only money I’ve spent on books has been for some audiobooks my boyfriend also wanted to read that weren’t at the library and books to send to bookswap partners. So basically, the library rocks my socks 🙂 It’s so much fun to be able to just go in and browse and to take any book you like home for free! I hope you love your library as much as I love mine 🙂

    • Exactly! The idea of not owning books makes me sad but reading is such an expensive habit that I simply must make use of the library. Yay, you make it sound so grand, I’ll let you know how my experience goes. Thanks for reading! 🙂

    • OMG I know! She has to be the most relatable character I’ve ever read. Rainbow Rowell did a fantastic job of nailing down her personality. Can’t wait to read your thoughts either Kayla, thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a comment