The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

The Power of Six CoverNovel Facts:

  • Published: August 23rd, 2011
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction
  • Series: Lorien Legacies
  • Pages in Hardback: 406
  • Preceded by: I Am Number Four
  • Followed by: The Rise of Nine
  • Quote: “The only limits of tomorrow are the doubts we have today.”
  • Goodreads
  • Amazon/Barnes and Noble/Book Depository
  • t-w-o.jpg

Plot:

I’ve seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he’s a mystery. But to me . . . he’s one of us.

Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we’ll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I’ve been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

They caught Number One in Malaysia. Number Two in England. And Number Three in Kenya. They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed. I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.

And I’m ready to fight.

Review of the Characters:

John/Four: Unfortunately for me, John got worse. Where as before he just a boring, robotic voice, this time around he was robotic with an added quick of FRUSTRATING. After going on and on for pages in the first book proclaiming his love for Sarah, after fifteen minutes with Six, suddenly everything is different. He loves Sarah but likes Six a lot, wow, what a dilemma John, I feel for ya. My heart especially breaks for you John when Sam tells you how he feels about Six and then you flirt with her right in front of him. Very compelling stuff.

Marina/Seven– I actually did enjoy her character quite a bit. She was proactive about her future and possessed a determination that could not be derailed. Although she acted predictably at times she still exuded this quiet strength that was compelling. Her parts in the book were the most enjoyable for me.

Review of the Story:

In the sequel to I Am Number Four we dive deeper into the Lorien Legacies and it was really interesting. I think what really made this story better than its precessor was learning more about the Lorien Legacies from different perspectives: Six’s and Seven’s. As I’ve said in I Am Number Four the premise of the story is original and engaging but the author adds in too many cliché tropes causing the overall execution fails.

Can we just talk about that love triangle for a moment? What was the point? What was the point of making such a big deal of how John and Sarah love each other in the first book just to flush it away in this novel? How did it enhance this novel at all? It didn’t. It was distracting, pointless, and wasted valuable page space. I’m usually not a fan of love triangles that are done well, so one that is thrown into a book randomly and without any real purpose is beyond irritating.

Review of the Writing:

I had a big problem with the writing. I feel like the author kind of knows where he wants to go with the story, he kind of has a general picture of the outcome but has no idea how to get there or accomplish any goals. He meanders throughout the whole book randomly throwing the characters in unrealistic situations and leaving reasons unexplained. It was an easy way of writing to put it frankly and it was all too clear throughout the whole book.

Rating:

The author introduces some exciting new characters in this segment of his series which really helped hide the transparent writing. With an interesting premise the author manages to leave just enough excitement for the next book, The Rise of Nine despite disappointing us once again with pages full of no activity and clichés.

Amazon/Barnes and Noble/Book Depository

thepowerofsix.jpg

Overall Rating:

t-w-o.jpg

P.S.– My next read is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

5 thoughts on “The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

  1. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: March 3rd-8th |

  2. Pingback: I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore |

  3. I decided to give up on this series after the first book, your review has made me feel like it was the right call! Sorry the book wasn’t as good as you hoped.

    P.S. Super excited to see you are reading Fangirl. I just finished it. Awesome stuff. 🙂

    • You were Becky, for such an original idea I was baffled by the amount of cliches!

      I started Fangirl last night and I had to force myself to put it down and go to bed because its SO good! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on it! 🙂

  4. Pingback: I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

Leave a Reply

