Dreaming Novel Things: Bookworms– Glamorized in Fiction, Crazed in Reality

dreamingnovelthingsDreaming Novel Things is a feature in which I discuss book related subjects, but in a creative way. I’ll use interviews, narratives and lists to talk about book trends, book opinions and bookish matters. If you have any book related subjects you’d like to see me discuss just leave me a comment below!

There’s hundreds of bookworms scattered throughout fiction and many of us love these characters because they depict our deepest love: books. We bookworms can relate to the character who can’t put down the book, but are these characters an accurate representation? Not by a long shot. You see, writers glamorize bookworms to cast them in a better light because we bookworms like to think of ourselves equivalent to the likes of Belle. But my fellow bookworms, its time to be honest. No more will we lie to ourselves! We bookworms are much more wild than our fictional counterparts. We are absolutely CRAZED. Need some proof? Keep on reading buddy, but prepare yourself. Otherwise I have to get into my whole “YOU CAN’T HANDLE THE TRUTH!” lecture and no one likes a long blog post.

beauty and sheepFirst up, Belle from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. That’s right, beautiful and sweet Belle. Voice like an angel and waist smaller than my hand Belle. But it is not these reasons that I hold against my favorite princess, no because it’s Disney, what do you expect? Let’s talk about the beginning of Beauty and the Beast. First, when the sheep rips a page from her book and then goes on to eat it, does Belle even hesitate? No, she goes on with her song, shakes her head at the little sheep and moves on with her life.

sheepLet’s look at how that would have gone down in reality. We would be singing along, proclaiming our love for books to the world and when the sheep would have the audacity to rip one of our beloved pages from our book, the song would end. Abruptly. That sheep would get shaved faster than the speed of light. You want to eat my page sheep? Well now you’re naked, get ready because that awkward walk into school naked dream is about to happen.

And what about that time that Gaston threw Belle’s book in the mud? She shrugged it off and politely indicated he get lost and that was that. You wanna know what would happen if someone through my book in the mud? Well, I can’t get into the specifics (legality issues) but I can tell you, it would not be pretty.

belle and gastoncrazed person

Then there’s fierce Jo March from Little Women. She’s passionate and ambitious and also, a fellow lover of literature. Sounds like a real life bookworm right? Well…. You see, Jo actually cares about what’s going on around her. She gets caught up in drama with her sister and the boy next door and ultimately spends a lot of time conversing with actual human beings. Does that sound familiar? Nope, not at all. We bookworms keep our noses and books and always choose to share our conversations for our favorite fictional characters, something that non-bookworms will never understand.

ratherbereading

And what about dear Bella Swan from Twilight? She was a self proclaimed book enthusiast, always raving about the classics until her paranormal boyfriend shows up. Well, we bookworms can relate to Bella on one level, always comparing fictional love interests to those found in real life, but here is where we differ: Boys in real life, never live up to boys in fiction. Bella found Edward completely perfect and honestly, the heart of a true bookworm has already been captured. Sorry boys.

fictionalboys

Finally, there’s poor Henry Bemis from The Twilight Zone. This poor fella just can’t catch a break. Everyone keeps interrupting his time to read so much so that he has to hide in a vault to escape the pesty nuicances. Writers made him much too tame, in reality bookworms would have first given a fierce warning and then would have ATTACKED!

lokibaby

It’s time to shake the chains off, own the truth fellow bookworms! Embrace it! We are fierce, we are feral, we are CRAZED!

Do you feel the same way? Share below and happy reading!

17 thoughts on “Dreaming Novel Things: Bookworms– Glamorized in Fiction, Crazed in Reality

  1. I totally agree! In real life, we bookworms are much more outgoing and assertive when it comes to our reading. I definitely can relate to that 🙂 Great post! 🙂

  2. Being a fellow Disney fanatic and especially Beauty & the Beast, I found your analogies both very humorous and very true. I almost sprayed a mouthful of coffee all over my monitor, thank you very much 😉 My wife and I got engaged and married over at Disney (with a Beauty & the Beast theme. mind you) so there is no mistaking our love of this story and these characters. Being sucked into the entire aura of the story and its background is my excuse, but the visions of naked sheep and legality issues definitely brought me back to reality. It’s always nice to escape into the world of make believe and galavant with your favorite characters. But, it’s also healthy to realize that our world doesn’t always shake out quite the same way. But, I still want to go back to that poor provincial town, even if it has naked sheep 😉

    • Oh my goodness, that is the coolest thing ever! Beauty and the Beast is my favorite Disney movie and I just plain out LOVE Disney, so you’re living my dream! 🙂

      I’m glad that you agree. Though we love our fictional bookworms in reality, we are much more passionate when it comes to books. Thanks for reading!

  3. Ahhh, how many times have I been engrossed in a book and become aware of a droning sound in the background? Hmmm, what is that irritating noise? Oh, it’s my wife trying to talk to me.

  4. HAHA, that Tyra Banks pic is priceless, it sums up my entire internal thought process when somebody man handles one of my books! I must admit, I did always wonder why Bella was so blase when the sheep ate her page. WHAT IF THAT WAS AN IMPORTANT PAGE.

    Eeesh.

    Great idea for a blog post!

  5. OH MY GOD DO NOT EVEN GET ME STARTED ON BELLE. If some dude threw my book in the mud he would get karate chopped. And I would be making me some nice slippers out of that sheep 😛

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap | Feb 24 – Mar 8, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

  7. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: March 3rd-8th |

  8. Oh my god I love this post so much hahaha. And you’re so right! Fictional bookworms are definitely glamorized compared to the real thing. I would’ve totally shorn that sheep right there in the town square if he ATE A PAGE out of my book. How dare he.

  9. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: March 3rd-8th | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

Leave a Reply

