30 Day Book Challenge: Day 22

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 22: Favorite Villain From a Book

I want you all to know that there was no hesitation when I decided who to write about for today’s challenge. This villain was creepy, scary and intriguing. He is Count Olaf from the Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket.

From the filthy suits, to the lack of socks and to the ankle eye tattoo that followed the Baudelaire children everywhere they went, Lemony Snicket created a superb villain. He built this persona that is not only creepy but down right scary.

Count Olaf can be violent but I found that I was more scared of him when he was calm. He was extremely clever and very manipulative so the reader knew to worry when Olaf was quiet because it meant he was formulating a plan. It was frightening how he always seem to find the Baudelaire children, no matter where they went he was a step ahead. I think the scariest part of Olaf was his charm. He was always able to talk himself out of every situation and nothing is more frightening to me than someone who is after you and not one soul believes you. I can’t imagine being completely alone with that horror and I’m glad that the Baudelaire children at least have each other.

Then there’s the intrigue. Count Olaf is surrounded by mystery so much so that your curiosity outweighs your terror. You can’t help but want to investigate this villain even if it means getting closer to him and possibly your death. How is he able to stay one step ahead of the children? To what extent is he involved the children’s parents death? And for goodness sakes, what is with all the eyes? I’d be willing to risk it all to get that last question answered as that ankle eye tattoo has haunted many childhood dreams.

Count Olaf will remain as my favorite fictional villain as he kept me terrified and wanting more at the same time.

Who was your favorite villain from a book? Share it below and happy reading!