30 Day Book Challenge: Day 7

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 7: Most Underrated Book

I’m never good with these kind of questions because I generally read whatever is on trend. I usually want to read books that everyone is talking about or a movie companion is coming out soon just so I can see what the hype is all about.

So after a couple of hours I came up with a book that I haven’t really seen anywhere else, so forgive me if I’m mistaken and it’s actually all the rage.

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Here is the description from Goodreads:

“In Mary’s world there are simple truths. The Sisterhood always knows best. The Guardians will protect and serve. The Unconsecrated will never relent. And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth. But, slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power, and about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness. When the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, she must choose between her village and her future—between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death?”

This book was actually sitting on my sister’s book shelf unread and I simply couldn’t let it go on anymore. So I picked it up, read the blurb and said “hmmm” and then immediately dived into it.

Literally four hours later I had finished the book and was reeling from my thoughts about it. It was the first zombie book I ever read and it was a fabulous introduction to that world. It gave you chills about the idea of death always pushing relentlessly, always trying to end the world as you know it.

It’s a well written novel and gripping from the start, but I haven’t heard anyone talk about it. Nobody I know in real life has heard of it and I haven’t seen one mention of it in the blogging world (of course now I’m going to get a million links to reviews on it). It was a great zombie book and I wish I would see it talked about more that way I can share the excitement. So read it! Read it now! (Well, you could finish what you were doing first).

What do you consider an underrated novel? Share it below and happy reading!