Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdayIn the famous words of Snow White, “I’m wishing (I’m wishing) for the one I love, to find me (to find me) today.” In this case (actually in most cases) the one that I love is a book.

I came about Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf.

This week while browsing Goodreads I stumbled upon A Case of Need by Michael Crichton.

A Case of Need CoverWritten as Jeffery Hudson in 1968.

A Case of Need is Michael Crichton’s award-winning debut novel, written shortly after he completed his medical internship. Set against the ever-building pressure and pace of a large Boston medical center, the tensions flare-and explode-when a surgical operation tragically ends in death, raising countless questions. Was it accidental malpractice? A violation of the Hippocratic oath? Or cold-blooded murder?

I must be on a serious science fiction kick because lately all these books look SO good! I’ve been a fan of Michael Crichton for a while ever since I read Jurrassic Park. He has this unique way of combining scientific facts into a compelling story, and coming from me that’s saying something. Science fiction was never my favorite subject, far from it actually, but Michael Crichton gives me a new appreciation on the subject.

I’ve never read a novel set against a medical backdrop before, I’ve always been intimidated by them. But the fact that Michael Crichton wrote it is enough for me. So today’s Wishlist Wednesday is more about the author instead of the title.

Have you ever read this novel? What did you think? What are you wishing for this Wednesday? Comment below and happy reading!

13 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday

  1. I fell in love with Jurassic Park, too, but I’ve never read this book. Right now, I’m reading Breakfast of Champions, but I’m wishing for American Gods by Neil Gaiman.

    • I’m wishing for anything by Neil Gaiman! I ordered Coraline by him because it was inexpensive and to serve as a chance to try him out and I’m really looking forward to it.

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. You and me both, wishing for the next great novel to fall into my lap 😉 I just finished ‘The Light Between Oceans’. And while I usually jump head first into my next novel immediately after finishing the current one, I pause for a few days out of respect for the influence this story has had on me. I don’t want to sink myself into another story until I can fully appreciate and immerse myself in all the intricacies of this one.

    Alas, I will move forward in due time. I have always loved Michael Crichton also. Jurassic Park and The Lost World were both gripping books. And one of my favorites, for whatever reason, was Sphere. Although it flopped miserably in the theaters, it was a really good read.

    Lately, I have been feeling a need for stories that uncover deep-seated emotions. Intense joy, happiness, even sorrow and suffering. That is what I am hoping for on this beautiful Wednesday. May all your fairy tale dreams come true and remain Grumpy-free 😉

    • I’ve heard really great things about ‘The Light Between Oceans’ so I’m glad to know that you enjoyed it. I experienced that same feeling after reading ‘Night Circus’. I think a book has exceeded every purpose when it leaves you pondering its meanings for days. Now, after reading your thoughts, I’ll have to move ‘The Light Between Oceans’ up my wish list.

      Yes, ‘Jurrassic Park’ and ‘Lost World’ are definitely the best science fiction novels I have read thus far. I haven’t read Sphere yet or seen the movie, but if it comes recommended by you then I’ll happily give it a try. Truly, anything that Michael Crichton writes I’ll read. I love it when we find authors like that, it’s like I have a secret friend. 😉

      Ah, those really are the best kind of reads, though emotionally exhausting. I have to space those apart so that I can still find the energy to carry on through the day. I hope you find another novel that satisfies your quench and have a great day! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: February 16th-22nd |

Leave a Reply

