Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdayIn the famous words of Snow White, “I’m wishing (I’m wishing) for the one I love, to find me (to find me) today.” In this case (actually in most cases) the one that I love is a book, three in fact.

I came about Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf. Really you’re suppose to just pick one but I can’t pick just one (I know, I’m a rebel), so I have chosen three novels that I can’t wait to get my hands on.

incarceron_book_coverIncarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells, but also metal forests, dilapidated cities, and vast wilderness. Finn, a seventeen-year-old prisoner, has no memory of his childhood and is sure that he came from Outside Incarceron. Very few prisoners believe that there is an Outside, however, which makes escape seems impossible.

And then Finn finds a crystal key that allows him to communicate with a girl named Claudia. She claims to live Outside– she is the daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, and doomed to an arranged marriage. Finn is determined to escape the prison, and Claudia believes she can help him. But they don’t realize that there is more to Incarceron than meets the eye. Escape will take their greatest courage and cost more than they know.

It sounds cool.

I guess I have to give you more than that; a prison so vast that it has become its own metal entity? Sign me up! (To read the book, not to go to prison). It sounds interesting and is a concept I’m not familiar with so I’m willing to give the book a try. Wishing fairy, if you’re listening I would really like a copy of Incarceron under my pillow please! (If you could throw in a couple bucks that would be great too)!

pet“Sometimes dead is better….”

When the Creeds move into a beautiful old house in rural Maine, it all seems too good to be true: physician father, beautiful wife, charming little daughter, adorable infant son – and now an idyllic home. As a family, they’ve got it all… right down to the friendly cat.

But the nearby woods hide a blood-chilling truth – more terrifying than death itself… and hideously more powerful.

I want this book purely for the fact that my mom read it and said she couldn’t get out of bed for fear of what might be under it. Do I think I’ll be scared more than the average person? Of course. Do I expected to get a “I told you so” from my mother? Absolutely. What do I want from the wishing fairy? A copy of Pet Sematary!

everyoneMindy Kaling has lived many lives: the obedient child of immigrant professionals, a timid chubster afraid of her own bike, a Ben Affleck–impersonating Off-Broadway performer and playwright, and, finally, a comedy writer and actress prone to starting fights with her friends and coworkers with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it?”

Perhaps you want to know what Mindy thinks makes a great best friend (someone who will fill your prescription in the middle of the night), or what makes a great guy (one who is aware of all elderly people in any room at any time and acts accordingly), or what is the perfect amount of fame (so famous you can never get convicted of murder in a court of law), or how to maintain a trim figure (you will not find that information in these pages). If so, you’ve come to the right book, mostly!

In Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, Mindy invites readers on a tour of her life and her unscientific observations on romance, friendship, and Hollywood, with several conveniently placed stopping points for you to run errands and make phone calls. Mindy Kaling really is just a Girl Next Door—not so much literally anywhere in the continental United States, but definitely if you live in India or Sri Lanka.

I love this woman! But not in a creepy way in the totally normal way…because there definitely is a totally normal way! This woman is HILARIOUS and mega talented and mega smart. If she wrote instructions on how to fill a balloon with spaghetti sauce I would read them, so it should be no surprise that all I want from the wishing fairy is a copy of Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? under my pillow. (Or actually on my nightstand, under the pillow makes for an uncomfortable night).

What books made it on your wish list this Wednesday? I would love to hear all about it so comment below and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

