15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 14

15-Day-ChallengeIf you haven’t heard of this challenge by now then you should know it’s so much fun! It was created by the blogger of Good Books, Good Wine and has really been causing me to think of how I run this here old book blog. Now, on to today’s challenge!

Day 14: Tell us your deal breakers

I have very few as I sincerely try to keep an open mind nowadays so don’t expect a long list! (I better not see anybody sighing in relief)!

  • Bad Endings— What do I mean by this? No resolution. I don’t want to read a whole entire book just for there to be a lack of resolution! Nothing makes me more angry (except specifically saving all the red skittles for last and then somebody else eating them)!
  • “Sad” novels– What I mean by “sad” is when the author builds this connection with a character and then kills them off to make you cry so that they can say they “touched” you. No. That drives me bonkers, killing off a character because it is necessary for the story is one thing, but killing off a character just to make me cry makes you a jerk.
  • Written by Nicholas Sparks– See both reasons above

That’s about it for me. I really try to read everything so I’m not generally prejudiced against any one kind of book (with a few exceptions as you can see above). What about you guys? Do you have any deal breakers? I hope you’ll share them with me by commenting below and happy reading!

12 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 14

  1. Oh Nicholas Sparks…I think I’ve read everything he’s written. I went through this sort of desperate frenzy when I was reading his books because I was so convinced that they HAD to be amazing, and I just kept getting disappointed. I kept thinking I just hadn’t found the right one yet… never did find it.

  2. Sparks—yes! I avoid his novels too after reading The Last Song, which isn’t even the worst. These are my deal breakers too, this is why I haven’t read The Fault in our Stars yet, and probably never will. Unless its Neil Gaiman, I refuse to read sad books!! 😛

    • I’m glad someone else understands! I don’t mind reading a touching story of humanity that happens to make me cry, but if the only goal of the author is to make the reader cry (ahem– Sparks) than I have no interest in reading the novel. Thanks for reading!

    • Thank you and yes everyone’s deal breakers are different which is why there are a billion different kinds of books out there. And if someone likes to read Sparks than good for them, nobody reads a book the same way.
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Haha I love your third deal breaker. Thankfully the movie trailers for his book adaptations were enough to keep me away from the books. I read for enjoyment. I think protagonists do need to be occasionally emotionally tortured, but that shouldn’t be the central theme of the book, just help give them depth.

    • Right! I’m more than happy to find depth in my characters but some people like to overdue it AND like to use the same formula for pretty much every book. His books are just not for me.
      Thanks for reading! 🙂

  4. Ha! You’re funny for liking my post about liking my post about liking Nicholas Sparks even though you hate him 🙂

    I think I kind of like unresolved endings in a way. Maybe that’s why I liked The Notebook and Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami.

    • Well I sincerely believe that two people don’t read one book the same way so if you like Sparks than I have just as much respect for as I do for others.

      I do see what you mean about unresolved endings, they let you fill in the blanks but unfortunately I have an impatient nature and want to know the ending NOW. (Kind of like that one girl from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory).

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      • In that case… I just read the Pinterest link you posted about “40 Books you won’t be able to put down,” and I would say that from personal experience The Princess Bride (one of the books on the list) had one of the worst unresolved endings ever. It was also one of the funniest books I’ve read, which is why I don’t regret reading it, but the ending was pretty atrocious.

Leave a Reply

