Rude Interruptions

 

potter(The picture is pretty self-explanatory but I’ll write a little something anyways.)

This is what happened today. I’m reading The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett (which is really good, by the way) and my sister sits by me and tries to start a conversation about nail polish. At first I didn’t realize she was talking to me (because usually a conversation requires the people looking at each other) so it didn’t irk me but then she gave me the tiniest shove causing me to look at her (gape at her) and said “Are you even listening to me?”. I looked at her trying to find the right words so that I wouldn’t sound rude when it hit me; she was the one being rude.

I know that not everybody is a reader but that does not mean we readers are doing nothing when reading. Our mind is being fully captivated demanding all our attention. It would be like going up to someone in the movie theater and casually starting a conversation about scones, it’s rude. (Unless you’re letting the person know someone’s giving away free scones, then you’re just doing your duty as a human being).

My mother understands because she too is a big reader but the rest of my family is always doing this and I repeatedly ask, “Does it look like I’m doing nothing?” and all I get in reply is a blank stare. (Please don’t make any judgments on my family, their great people, just not readers).

Does this happen to any of you? Do you constantly have to tell someone you are busy reading THE BOOK IN YOUR HANDS, or am I over-reacting? Write it down, shout it out, or sing it aloud and happy reading!

P.S.- Check out some of my favorite posts today!

12 thoughts on “Rude Interruptions

  1. You are not alone in your frustrations…

    I would try your response (does it look like I’m doing nothing?), but I’m pretty sure the response I’d get would be yes. Oh the persecutions we read-a-holics endure. πŸ™‚

  2. I know exactly how you feel. You are not overreacting at all. My mom does that to me all the time. I am currently reading ‘the Host’ by Stephenie Meyer and I was reading it on the couch and my mom comes over and turns on the tv. I was rather annoyed. Then one time I went to the library and these really loud girls came and sat right next to me. I couldn’t believe it. It was a library! Not to mention there was so many available seats not near me. I completely understand your pain.

  3. My case is totally opposite, My mom doesn’t read anything other than the newspaper or the occasional magazine. The rest of the family are into books just as much as i am. My mom is the one who interrupts me, but I have to say in her defense that when I like a book I tend to read for 2 or 3 hours at a time so she HAS to come and make me stop πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

