100 Young Adult Books for the Feminist Reader

3bea37be2f4dfebce650c62733edbb75

So while on pinterest (when I should have been reading) I came across this really awesome link, 100 Young Adult Books for the Feminist Reader. When I clicked on it, (I, being conceited) I figured that I would recognize all the names on the list; but I am ashamed to say that I have only read a fraction. Now of course there are a couple of names on the list that have been on my get-to-eventually list for a while but there were books I’ve never heard of: Mare’s War by Tanita S. Davis and The Sweet In-Between by Sheri Reynolds being included in that list.

The books I have read on this list:

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman
  • Island of Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell
  • Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
  • Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Six! Six out of 100 books, I mean thats-thats- I don’t know what percent (I’m a reader not a mathematician) but I know its low! Now I can vouch for all six I have read, not only were they excellent reads but they also displayed a great amount of girl power.

I do have a few additions:

  • Inkheart by Cornelia Funke- This follows the point of view of Meggie, a 12-year-old girl who has inherited her father’s gift, the things she reads aloud become real. Sure Meggie is a little troublesome but she is clever and brave enough to go against a real story book villain. Meggie definitely earned her spot on the list.
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling- Yes, we follow the point of Harry Potter who is not of the female gender but that does not mean that there is no girl power demonstrations throughout this novel. Ginny, Hermione and Professor McGonagall are all excellent examples of turning the conventional role of females upside down. Most of all is Lilly Potter, Harry’s mother. I think the reader forgets that the reason Harry can defeat Voldemort is because she sacrificed herself for him, with Lily there would have been no Harry Potter. (In more ways than one 🙂 )
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson– I was very surprised not to find this one on the list as Lisbeth Salander is basically the poster child of a feminist.

So after discovering that there are many books I still have yet to read, I decided to formally accept challenges. I will be adding challenges to the menu above and along with all the other books I have decided to review I will also be doing any and all challenges I find. 40 books that you won’t be able to put down will be added to the challenges category as well as this one.

If you have any challenges you can recommend please throw them my way. Also if you have any books you would add to this list or any you would take off comment below, let your voice be heard!

In the meantime check out some of these great reviews!

12 thoughts on “100 Young Adult Books for the Feminist Reader

  1. Pingback: Deathly Twilight | The Fantasy Central Channel

  2. What a GREAT idea!! I’m definitely going to look at some of these. 😛 thanks for this post, I’m going to go bookmark that page.

Leave a Reply

