Spread the Word: The Butler at Dewey Decimal’s Butler

spreadthewordIt’s Saturday and you know what that means! Spread the Word! This feature was inspired by A Bookish Heart with her Bookish Friends feature. This is a weekly feature that I have started to shine the spotlight on other bloggers that have caught my eye. There are so many great bloggers out there that keep me giggling or thinking with their blog posts and it’s gotten to the point where I want to shout it to the world so that others can discover their greatness too.

I don’t ask them questions or anything like that as it can be time-consuming to the featured blogger who is busy…blogging. So instead I just go through their blog with a fine tooth comb and learn everything I can to share it all with you. Ready? Good! Excited? Me too!

Today I would like to turn the spotlight on a blogger that first caught my attention with their clever title. A blogger whose cleverness extends beyond their title and into each post. Her witty book reviews often left me exclaiming, “She thinks like a literature teacher” and then lo and behold I discovered that she IS a literature teacher. A brilliant one too.

dewey

She is the Butler @ Dewey Decimal’s Butler

She first caught my eye with her book reviews. This lady has a serious talent for writing book reviews as they were both in-depth AND entertaining as well. Some of my favorites that she has done include Pride and Prejudice and Invisible Man.

pride

“The Brontes can take their emotional diarrhea and shove it,” how great is that line? Don’t even answer, because it’s not necessary. The Butler’s literary wit knows no bounds.

invisible

Do you see what I mean? She has such a talent for delivering a concise view on the novel while holding her audience’s attention the whole time. She lives by her famous rule, show don’t tell. She does just that by showing us how she feels about the novel instead of telling us about the novel. It is a skill mastered by few.

That’s not the only fascinating tidbit about the Butler, check out her about page below. It’s hilarious!

about

How could we fellow nerds ever judge her for doing and loving the same things we do and love: read. I’m glad she gained faith in us and revealed a little bit more about herself. It’s always nice to see the blogger behind the blog (and really  nice to see a fellow fan of Colin Firth– but listen up Butler, HE’S MINE).

The Butler also runs a feature titled: Literary Moments.

literary

In this feature she talks about scenes you see in life that feel a little too literary. Each one is thought-provoking and interesting.

Here are a few facts I’ve gathered from reading the Butler’s blog:

  • She’s a big fan of Jane Austen
  • She dressed up as Juno while pregnant with her son
  • She has Scottish roots (awesome)!
  • She prefers older books
  • She kept her gender anonymous during the early days of her blog
  • She’s a fellow fan of Narnia

So make it your mission to check out the Butler’s blog and add her quality posts to your reader, you won’t regret it!

8 thoughts on “Spread the Word: The Butler at Dewey Decimal’s Butler

  1. Garsh! I didn’t even glance at my blog the entire weekend. Both my kids’ birthday party was yesterday, so I was all caught up in Martha Stewart mode. Thanks so much for the shout out! Also, it’s freakin’ sweet to have you back online. Welcome back, lady.

Leave a comment