The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief CoverNovel Facts:

  • Published: April 1st, 2006 (Paperback Edition)
  • Publisher: Mirimax Books/Puffin Books
  • Genre: Young Adult Fantasy/Greek Mythology
  • Series: Percy Jackson & the Olympians
  • Pages in Paperback: 375
  • Followed By: The Sea of Monsters
  • Quote: “If my life is going to mean anything, I have to live it for myself.”
  • Goodreads
  • Amazon/Barnes and Noble/Book Depository
  • t-h-r-e-e.jpg

 

Plot:

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school… again. And that’s the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy’s Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’ master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus’ stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Review of the Characters:

Percy– Son of Poseidon, Demigod and our protagonist. Percy was an admirable kid, brave and loyal true and true. He was also brash and stubborn (a lot like Harry Potter) but they were realistic flaws that led him and his friends into realistic problems. Realistic demigod problems anyway. For the first novel, the author did a great job with establishing a distinct voice for Percy, we get a sense of who he is from the very first page. I look forward to seeing more of him throughout the series.

Grover– I really loved Grover, probably because out of all the characters he was the one that grew the most. He learned to face his fears. With a person like Percy its hard to keep up but Grover not only did but supported his friend the entire way through. I absolutely adore how passionate he is about his cause (his life mission is to find the lost god Pan and restore Earth to the way it was before pollution). He was a great balance to Percy and I hope has more appearances.

Annabeth– I love that there is a strong female like Annabeth depicted in children’s literature. She was more than a match for Percy and save the trio from trouble many times. She had a strong presence throughout the novel and I’m so happy with the decision she made at the end of the book. I can’t wait to see what the author has in store for this character.

Review of the Story:

I’m a bit biased because I LOVE greek mythology. I’ve always been fascinated with it so give me a book with a thousand allusions to it? Yeah, I’m going to enjoy it. The author did a fantastic job weaving the mythology into the story without overwhelming the character. I never once felt like I was reading a textbook on the subject so he gets points for that. The idea of Camp Halfblood is so fun and original. It also leaves potential for numerous opportunities and that is where the real genius lies in this book. The adventure was entertaining (silly at times) but definitely a fun read.

Review of the Writing: 

I’ve read a lot of young adult novels but this was the only book where I was left feeling like it was too young for me. The fact that a god would leave giant spider robots threw me off, it just didn’t fit the character and seemed like it was added in only to appeal to kids. I mean, it is aimed at middle schoolers but so is Harry Potter and for me The Lightning Thief was missing that element that transcends ages. Besides the juvenile writing though, the author did a great job shaping his story and aligning it with greek mythology. Camp Halfblood was well fleshed out and I’m sure it will star in children’s dreams for years to come.

Rating: 

A fast and entertaining read, The Lightning Thief is an exciting novel that will take you on a wild adventure. If you like children’s novels then I highly recommend this book as it’ll leave you eagerly anticipating the next in the series.

thelightningthief.jpg

Overall Rating

t-h-r-e-e.jpg

P.S.– My next read is Miss. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

15 thoughts on “The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

  1. Pingback: Daughter of the Winds by Jo Bunt |

  2. I adore this series. I took a few of them to Vegas a few years ago with me when my husband was working a convention. I stayed by the pool with my head in these books. :o) I haven’t tried the spin off books yet though.

  3. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: February 9th-15th |

  4. I must admit I’ve never had a desire to pick this series up, I’m not sure why! So many people have linked it to Harry Potter so maybe that hasn’t helped. I also saw the film a while back and was unimpressed (although I’ve heard a lot of the book fans didn’t like it). I’m glad to see you enjoyed it. 🙂

    • I have to say the only reason I was interested is because I’m so prone to greek mythology, if it hadn’t been for that I probably wouldn’t have picked up the book either.

      It definitely has a lot of the same elements as Harry Potter: a noble boy who feels out of place in the real world, a strong, smart female sidekick, the funny friend and a magical setting. But you can’t compare it to Harry Potter side by side because it will just fall flat.

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      • Ah, I totally understand. 🙂 I’ve had a bit of a weird relationship with Greek mythology. I like it in theory, all the tales seem so unique and interesting yet whenever I’ve actually seen films or TV series using Greek mythology I’ve felt like something was missing and not enjoyed it that much. I don’t think I’ve read a Greek mythology book yet though so maybe that’s where I’ve gone wrong!

        Yeah I really don’t get people’s obsession of comparing things to Harry Potter, there will never be another Harry Potter dammit! It tends to put me off rather than make me want to read the book, especially if it’s a quote on the cover of the book because I know it’s a marketing ploy.

        It’s nice to have you back blogging again Lindsey. 🙂

      • I totally get what you mean. When I was younger, if someone said a book was the next Harry Potter, I would read it eagerly only to be disappointed. Now if someone compares a book to Harry Potter, it’s like an automatic removal from books I want to read.

        It’s good to be back! 🙂

  5. I liked these but felt like they were a bit young, too. There was just something a little off. I also liked the characters but never felt like I really fell in love with them. But they were quick and enjoyable!

    • Exactly! I mean, they were okay it just felt juvenile. And its targeted for young kids so that’s perfectly okay, but like I said in my review, it’s missing that element that transcends ages.

      Thanks for reading, glad to know you felt the same way. I heard they get better and the follow up series when the kids are older is suppose to be really good, so I may be giving those a shot.

  6. Pingback: Daughter of the Winds by Jo Bunt | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

Leave a comment