Friday Favorites: Favorite Author Pseudonyms

Friday Favorites 02I stumbled upon this meme at the adorable blog, Tessa’s Wishful Endings. Really it’s as simple as the name; you talk about a favorite book related subject on Fridays. It could be anything from favorite authors, books and genres to favorite reading spots, opening sentences and love triangles. Basically the world of novels is our oyster and with Friday Favorites, we can conquer it.

Favorite Author Pseudonym

Have you ever fallen head over heels for an author? You read a book and absolutely adore the writing style so you start reading more and more of this author. Suddenly you’ve collected every book they’ve ever written, first editions with signatures, and know every answer to every interview they have ever given.

Then you find yourself gushing about your beloved author with your book buddies when one of them exclaims they love them too, they then go on to gush about them with you but they call the author by a different name. You tell them they are mistaken, they misheard you. You said “So and So” and not “Other so and so” and that’s when your friend tells you that you are using the author’s pseudonym.

YOU MEAN THAT WASN’T THE AUTHOR’S REAL NAME?

This is actually very common in the book marketing world nowadays, authors use a pen name either to hide their identity or because their real name is something like “Milfred Abeforth Gonzillabreath.” The trade has become so common that it’s actually considered an art form. Authors are getting more and more creative with their pen names and some are pretty remarkable.

So without further ado, my favorite author pseudonyms are:

1. Lemony Snicket (Daniel Handler)–It’s mysterious and doesn’t sound like any other name. It’s creative and one of a kind.

2. Dr. Seuss (Theodor Seuss Geisel)— It’s whimsical and silly, perfect for the children’s book that we have all grown to love.

3. Kennilworthy Whisp (J.K. Rowling)– This is one is more obvious but it has that Harry Potter quality to it that I just can’t resist.

4. Mark Twain (Samuel Clemens)— This is a classic, and that fact that it has lived so long says a lot of its quality.

What are your favorite author pseudonyms? Share them below and happy reading!

11 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: Favorite Author Pseudonyms

  1. I didn’t realise that Mark Twain was one! You learn something new everyday (also my amazement has totally just proved your point on this post :P) and I agree, I think Lemony Snicket is brill. I’ve never put any thought into if I even have a favourite pseudonym, I’ll have to go away and think about it!

  2. Ellery Queen is Frederic Dannay and Manfred B. Lee. Joseph Conrad is Józef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski, Ann Landers – Eppie Lederer, Abigail Van Buren – Pauline Esther Phillips and Jeanne Phillips (there were two – mother and daughter), George Elliot – Mary Ann Evans, George Orwell – Eric Arthur Blair, John le Carré – David John Moore Cornwell, O Henry is William Sydney Porter.No list of pseudonyms is complete without Saki – Hector Hugh Munro. Benjamin Franklin had several – Busy body, Martha Careful, Richard Saunders (Poor Richard’s Almanac),Benevolus, Alice Addertongue, Caelia Shortface, and Silence Dogood among others.

  3. Lemony Snicket is such a FUN pen name! It’s always a little startling to find out a public, yet not always known, real name for an author. I think a lot of authors use them, though, the person above me put together a great list there. Fiona Paul is also really Paula Stokes, and J. Nelle Patrick who just published TSARINA is actually Jackson Pearce. I know there are others but I just can’t think of them at the moment!

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    • I know, I love Lemony Snicket’s name, when I found out his real name it was such a shock, the pen names are the ones that we hold dear.

      I had no idea about Nelle Patrick! There are SO many out there, it’s really fascinating. Thanks for sharing Wendy! 🙂

  4. Ahaha, I’d probably read a book written by Milfred Abeforth Gonzillabreath though… 😛 Aside from a few that others have listed, I can only think of Mira Grant (Seanan McGuire). But wow, I didn’t know Lemony Snicket’s real name until now!

    • It’s definitely an eye catcher, haha!

      Wow, Mira Grant? Really? See, there are just so many out there and its startling because you grow an attachment to your favorite authors and then to find out that’s not their real name can be… unsettling.

      I know! The mystery has been revealed! I think I’m going to reread the Series of Unfortunate Events to see if this new info changes the reading experience.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts Sophie! 🙂

  5. I know Abigail Haas (Dangerous Girls) is actually Abby McDonald,who writes lighter kind of YA. I don’t like Abby McDonald’s books while I really enjoyed DG. I think there are more in YA too, but I can’t think of any at the moment. I think it would be fun to have a pseudonym! Fun post again!

  6. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: February 23rd-March 1st |

Leave a Reply

