Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdayIn the famous words of Snow White, “I’m wishing (I’m wishing) for the one I love, to find me (to find me) today.” In this case (actually in most cases) the one that I love is a book.

I came about Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf.

This week while browsing Goodreads I stumbled upon Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by  Jesse Andrews.

earl coverGreg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.

Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.

For the longest time I thought a book had to have a fantasy element to be entertaining. I read books to escape and I wanted that escape to be complete. I wanted to enter unheard of worlds dictated by new laws. I thought modern fiction couldn’t possibly hold any appeal, who wanted to read about regular day life? I wanted to get away from regular day life.

But then I read John Green and found a whole new appreciation for stories that depict an average human’s life. I realized these kind of books show how we as people can rise to any occasion, jump over any obstacle, succeed any expectations. I realized the beauty of this genre and found a whole slew of new books to read.

The cover drew me in by the way it stood out and when I read the synopsis I was even more intrigued. Leukemia has always been this distant disease that I knew almost nothing about so the chance to learn more about it and the implications that it causes is a chance I can’t pass up.

Have you ever read this novel? What did you think? What are you wishing for this Wednesday? Comment below and happy reading!

9 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday

  1. I’ve been wanting to read this book for so long, but I’ve just never gotten around to it. The cover is so enticing! One of my friends read it, though, and she loved it!

    • Oh, good to know that your friend liked it! Yeah, this is a definitely a book I would judge a cover by, it’s so bright and different. I hope you get to read it soon Holly, and thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: February 23rd-March 1st |

  3. I hadn’t heard of this book and now I want it bad! It sounds great! I feel you on the whole mistrust towards contemporary fiction, but I have found some awesome ones of my own, including John Green’s, of course; and this sounds like a book I could love! Plus, you are totally right, the cover is gorgeous!

    My WW

Leave a Reply

