Dreaming Novel Things: When You Read A Book Review That Breaks Your Heart…

dreamingnovelthingsDreaming Novel Things is a feature in which I discuss book related subjects, but in a creative way. I’ll use interviews, narratives and lists to talk about book trends, book opinions and bookish matters. If you have any book related subjects you’d like to see me discuss just leave me a comment below!

We’ve all been there right? You’re scrolling through your reader, and suddenly you see the title: “Review: [Book Title] by [Author’s Name] and you get REALLY excited because that just so happens to be one your all time favorite books. You click eagerly on the post, anticipating the blogger’s thoughts. As you’re reading it through, your smile starts to fade. Then you’re going back to reread parts to make sure that you read right, to make sure that you actually comprehended what the blogger was trying to say.

Their words hit you over and over again, as they break down that book that you loved so dearly. Your face is one of horror now as you realize that you made a big mistake by clicking on this post. Then the worst hits you as you finally scroll down to read the rating. The dreaded one star rating hurts you like nothing has so far, and you have to look away from the screen for a moment just to get a hold of yourself.

It can’t be, you think. Is there another novel with the same title and same author that they read? Because it couldn’t be your book they hated so much. There’s simply no way you guys read the same book.

But then you shake your head at your obvious denial because you did read the same book. That very book that you loved so dearly and raged about all week was the same book that the blogger beat down until it could never walk again. What a day.

Truly, one of the greatest aspects about books, is that we take different perspectives on them. Because we are unique individuals, we in turn take unique meanings from them. Some will think that Aslan stands for the Christian religion while others will believe that he just a lion, who happens to talk. We are made up different ideas, different beliefs therefore we couldn’t possibly all agree on one book.

And usually that’s okay, but there are those days. Those days when you scroll through your feed and find a review about a book you love and that review isn’t pretty. That review breaks down that novel before you’re very eyes, attacks the very things you loved about it. It’s hard to read a review like that, when you’re so passionate about the subject.

But you shouldn’t let those reviews get to you. Don’t attack the blogger, don’t throw out the beloved book, take a step back and once your feelings subside think about this: your book just became all the more special. The fact that you connected to the novel in such a way that this other blogger did not simply means that this book understands you in a way that others can not. This book was unrelatable to others which means you share a unique relation. You and you alone will take those meanings that were so profound and hold them dear. It will be like a special secret between you and your book that no one else understands. The fact that another person doesn’t like it just means that now more than ever it truly is YOUR book.

So once the hurt subsides, remember your special connection to the book just tightened. So don’t hate the blogger, thank them for strengthening your bond.

Have you read a book that broke your heart? Did you turn into the hulk or get over it? Share below and happy reading!

13 thoughts on “Dreaming Novel Things: When You Read A Book Review That Breaks Your Heart…

  1. Ha! This happened to me a while back with my #1 favorite novel, Their Eyes Were Watching God. I was thinking, “What’s wrong with you?!!” that whole time.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#22) |

  3. The reverse gets to me too sometimes. Haha. When I detested a book and then come across a raving review, I can’t help but shake my head and wonder how anyone can love such a book. Didn’t they get annoyed by the whiny character? Didn’t they get frustrated with that plot that went in circles? And the list goes on.

    But everyone is entitled to their own opinions and we all have different tastes, so I do think that every book out there is bound to have an audience. I might just not be part of it.

    • Oh I understand that one too, for me its not heartbreaking its just confusing. That happens to me a lot actually. 😉

      Exactly. Why worry about what everyone else is reading when you have a whole stack of amazing books that looks good to you?

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: February 16th-22nd |

  5. My problem is usually the opposite. Like if I HATED a book and someone reviews it loving it so hard. I get all: How the heck could you LIKE that crap!! But then I have to hold it in. Because everyone does feel and connects differently with different books. When I love a book and someone rips it apart I can usually see where they’re coming from even if I don’t agree with them necessarily. And it doesn’t ruin how I feel about the book at all usually. BUT if they are in love with that douchey controlling guy that I HATED in that one book, I really question their taste. But that’s something I’m working on 🙂 Great topic!!!

    • I come across those reviews ALL the time lately. Though its less heartbreaking for me and more with me like WHATTTTT?

      But I actually still follow those blogs because we have such opposite tastes that if they like something I pretty much know not to get it, so their still useful. Haha! 🙂

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!

  6. I actually like reading negative reviews of books I’ve liked. I won’t necessarily agree with them, and I might be very sad that we can’t both love this book. BUT, I like to know why someone didn’t like it because it can sometimes either make me love it more, or make me see it in a way that my experiences didn’t interpret something and I’m glad for that. It can also make for a much more interesting discussion than when we both say “OMG, wasn’t it SO awesome when THIS happened” all the time. Some of the best book discussions I’ve had have been when we’ve disagreed on a book.

    • I agree! Reading a review that expresses the same perspective as you is nice but not exactly enlightening. When you read something from a different perspective its interesting and you learn something new.

      Once again, excellent points Lauren! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Also Lauren, I checked out your blog and loved it. I subscrived via email and Bloglovin’ but I can’t for the life of me figure out how to comment on your posts. It says to subscribe to comment (atom) and when I click on it it just takes me to a screen with text on it. But I really wanted you to know that I love the fact that you’re a librarian and think Harry Potter is THE best series ever, BECAUSE IT IS!!!!

Leave a Reply

