Dreaming Novel Things: Conquering the Never Ending Book Wish List

dreamingnovelthingsDreaming Novel Things is a feature in which I discuss book related subjects, but in a creative way. I’ll use interviews, narratives and lists to talk about book trends, book opinions and bookish matters. If you have any book related subjects you’d like to see me discuss just leave me a comment below!

Being a bookworm means possessing an unquenchable thirst for stories. We are constantly collecting, hoarding and buying books in attempts to quench this thirst, but in fact with each story we read our thirst only deepens. It’s a life we happily accept and enjoy… for the most part. But aren’t there moments where you feel like your drowning in your desire for books? Here are three telling signs that indicate you might need help managing your endless book wish list.

  • You have a wish list but its spread out on several sheets of paper scattered about in your room
  • You have a wish list on your computer but you’ve kept adding randomly to it for so long that you there is no kind of prioritizing to it
  • You don’t have a wish list you just scour the shelves or online hoping to suddenly remember that book you’ve been wanting

Recognize yourself there? Don’t be ashamed, that was me too. There’s nothing wrong with always wanting books, you just need a way to organize it so that it doesn’t consume your life. Luckily for you I have a few helpful hints.

First of all I think it’s important that you understand that we must start anew. This does not mean that everything on your current list will be deleted but that we will not making any amendments to the current list. You need to pull out a fresh piece of paper or a new word document. It’s not only easier but it signifies your new organized ways. (Pretty deep, eh?)

So continuing with our steps:

1. Pull out a fresh sheet of paper or new word document. Take a moment to ponder the possibilities this canvas holds. Now stop.

blank

Personal Note: I like to use a word document because then I can link the books to Goodreads and Amazon.

2. Now, divide your entries into genres.

genre.jpg

3. Now, alphabetize each genre by the authors last name, making it easy to find a novel by your favorite author

classic.jpgmystery.jpg

4. You’ve now got a pretty organized list. If you chose to use a word document, you should consider linking your books to goodreads or amazon to make it easy to check reviews or for purchasing.

Now comes the bonus step. Time to create your Quick Fix sheet. The Quick Fix sheet is a list of books you want that rank highest in priority. Meaning, you want those books PRONTO! The trick is to not make the list too long as then it just becomes another ordinary wish list. I try to limit myself to the top ten books I want.

quickfix.jpg

Congratulations! You have now conquered your never-ending book wish list! As long as you keep adding books in the right categories and order, you shouldn’t suffer from the overwhelming feeling of the mass amount of books crushing your tiny body. And I can’t recommend the Quick Fix sheet enough, it has done wonders for me. It’s the first thing I check when I go book shopping and its easy to change. In fact, share your Quick Fix sheet with me!

How do you stay on top of the never-ending book wish list? Share below and happy reading!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Dreaming Novel Things: Conquering the Never Ending Book Wish List

  1. I have so many I want to read that eventually I just quit making lists and grabbed whichever came into my possession first. But the book recommendations on my blog comments have been helpful, too.

  2. Great post, and a very organised system of keeping your wish list. Might have to try it out, if I can find all the random bits of paper I have written book titles I want to read on 😀

  3. This is a great idea! I just need to find time to set everything up and that could be problematic. Nevertheless, It’s something I’d like to accomplish. I completely understand the craziness of a never ending to-read list. Everyday I find new stories I want to read and although truthfully we can’t read every book out there, I can try!

    • Finding the time is the hardest part of the whole process, but once you get it organized it makes life so much easier. I’m right there with ya! My life mission is to read every book out there or die trying haha! Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

