Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdayIn the famous words of Snow White, “I’m wishing (I’m wishing) for the one I love, to find me (to find me) today.” In this case (actually in most cases) the one that I love is a book.

I came about Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf.

This week while browsing Goodreads I stumbled upon Planet of the Apes by Pierre Boulle.

planet of the apes

 

 

A skeptical non-human couple retrieve a bottle in space with a strange story. In the not-too-distant future, three men rocket to an Earth-like planet with temperate lush forests. But here humans are savages who destroy their shuttle; apes their civilized masters who kill one, capture the narrator.

 

 

 

I mean, come on, who could resist? I’ve only ever seen the original movie but I loved it and had no idea it was a novel until recently. I’m always looking to expand my experience in science fiction as I don’t seem to initially go for that genre, so this seems like a perfect option.

I love the underlying messages that play out in the movie. The way humans justify committing atrocities and our fear of the unknown. Our hypocrisy is made crystal clear during the famous court scene where the apes recite almost verbatim passages from their bible that dictates man below ape.

And that ending scene, where our protagonist discovers the devastating truth! That has to be one of the most memorable film moments ever captured. I’m hoping the book that inspired the film lives up to my expectations, I have read reviews that the writing is a bit clunky but that doesn’t scare me.

Have you ever read this novel? What did you think? What are you wishing for this Wednesday? Comment below and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday

  1. On my current wish list is The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner. I haven’t read Planet of the Apes – only watched the revamped film that came out a few years ago. It was curious.

    • I haven’t heard of The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner, but that doesn’t mean much. Sounds interesting by the title though. The Planet of the Apes story is a curious one indeed, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

