Friday Favorites: Favorite Way to Save Your Spot

Friday Favorites 02I stumbled upon this meme at the adorable blog, Tressa’s Wishful Endings. Really it’s as simple as the name; you talk about a favorite book related subject on Fridays. It could be anything from favorite authors, books and genres to favorite reading spots, opening sentences and love triangles. Basically the world of novels is our oyster and with Friday Favorites, we can conquer it.

Favorite Way to Hold Your Spot in a Book

There comes a time when a reader must put down their book. I know, shocking but true. For example we have to put down our book when we drive to the bookstore. We have to put down our book when we are on the computer online shopping for books. Lastly we must put down our book so that we may sleep and dream…about books.

So how do we keep our spots? If you have a memory like mine then there’s no way you’ll be able to remember what spot you left off of– or where you put your keys. So what do you do? Well, good news– there’s plenty of options.

bookmark

You can use an actual book mark. I compare these to collectors items; we bookworms collect them but never actually use them. I currently have a bundle stashed all over the house but whenever I need one so I can put my book down I can’t find them. If a rarity happens and I actually find one it doesn’t stay in my book for long as I’m always forgetting where I put it when I take it out of my book. I told you, bad memory.

dog-earringSome people dog ear their page. Yes, its true and we should just acknowledge that truth. If they CHOOSE to do it to their book then we can’t really judge them as it is their choice. If you aren’t familiar with the bookish term dog-ear it means to bend the corner of the page so that you can easily find your spot. If you prefer this method I promise I won’t judge, just don’t ever think about doing it to my books!

open bookYou can just leave the book open. I find myself guilty of this one quite often, especially when it comes to paperbacks. It’s so easy to say that you’ll be gone just a minute and then one peanut butter sandwich and a million potato chips later you return to your aching book. I don’t particularly like this method as it often leaves creases along the spine which just get worse over time. However, that doesn’t stop me. I’m a monster, aren’t I?

cover sleeve

My favorite method is to use the cover sleeve. The downfall is that this only applies to hard backs but I read many of them so I use it quite often. Its quite handy  as you don’t have to look for it like a book mark as it’s right there on your book, surprise! Also, the book suffers no physical damage during the process. Everybody wins– you, the book and your memory! Oh happy day!

Of course you can always try the old never stop reading trick. I’ve heard that it’s 99% foolproof in keeping your place and you can’t beat statistics like that, nosiree.

What’s you favorite way to hold your spot in a book? Share it below and happy reading!

12 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: Favorite Way to Save Your Spot

  1. I use post-it notes. I always lost my bookmarks in my bag and stuff. I used to dog ear, but everyone hates that, and it annoys me with library books when people have done it. I have actually used jackets before, but in general I take the jackets off to read the book. Post-it notes are perfect for me because they stick and you can jot down notes on them! They are awesome.

  2. I only dog ear library books (which is naughty, I know) when I see a quote that I might want to use later in a blog post. Otherwise, I have nice bookmarks at home and yes, I use them, but only for books staying at home! For any book that will be leaving the flat, I use a library receipt to mark my place. I’m not a fan of propping books upside down because I hate creasing spine (please note that I’m talking about my own books here, and not library books). It sounds like I’m rough with library books, but I’m not, I just don’t treat them as nicely as my own books, which all look like they’re still new. 🙂

    • Haha your comment made my day! I’m very much like that myself in the sense of taking more liberties with books that are not mine. Glad to know that you actually use book marks, and the receipt is a good one. I’ll have to start keeping my receipts in one place. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  3. Oh, what a fun meme. I don’t think I’ve ever seen it around before! My favorite way to mark my spot in a book is to try and not have to–to read it all in one sitting! But life sometimes gets in the way of that. I often have bookmarks on hand, so I use them a lot, or sometimes I just memorize the chapter number of where I left off. I don’t read with my dust jackets on(and I prefer paperback over hardcover in general), so marking with the dust jacket never really works for me.

    • Thanks, this meme definitely is a fun one! I have to agree with your favorite way to hold your spot, it’s the most effective! 😉 Glad to know that someone uses bookmarks, it must just be me that collects them because their pretty and then can never find them. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. I’m trying to use real bookmarks more because I have so many, but I have always been a post-it note user. I like using post-it notes because they never slide out of the book. I also use Goodreads to track my progress in books, so I usually will note my page on there if my phone is close by.

    • Post-it notes are brilliant! I can’t believe I never thought about it before, they must be so convenient! I also never thought about using Goodreads, I’ll have to try that technique out. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

