Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdayIn the famous words of Snow White, “I’m wishing (I’m wishing) for the one I love, to find me (to find me) today.” In this case (actually in most cases) the one that I love is a book.

I came about Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf.

This week while browsing the wonderful site that is Goodreads, I stumbled upon A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

8621462The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

 

How can somebody read that synopsis and not be interested in this novel? I’ve heard so many great things about Patrick Ness, so it was the name and the cover that first drew my eye. Then I read that brilliantly worded synopsis and this book was on my wish list in a second. It sounds almost like a philosophical novel, which makes me even more excited of course. If you could make a career out of philosophy that would be my major in a heartbeat but it seems like no there’s no job markets for it out there.

Have you heard of this novel? Did you read it? What did you think about it?

What are you wishing for this Wednesday? Share it below and happy reading!

8 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday

  1. Great choice — I loved A Monster Calls (reviewed it earlier this year too). It’s so powerful, and the drawings are amazing as well. I’d really like to read more by Patrick Ness as well. I hope you get to this one soon!

Leave a Reply

