30 Day Book Challenge: Day 24

picsart_1375358545585Good morning fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 24: A Book You Wish More People Would Have Read

I know the moment I publish this post I’m going to hear about how everybody has read it but, I’m going to choose it anyway. I haven’t seen this book talked about in the blogging world yet and it happens to be one of my favorites. It is Ballad by Maggie Steifvater.

In this mesmerizing sequel to Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception, music prodigy James Morgan and his best friend, Deirdre, join a private conservatory for musicians. James’ musical talent attracts Nuala, a soul-snatching faerie muse who fosters and feeds on the creative energies of exceptional humans until they die. Composing beautiful music together unexpectedly leads to mutual admiration and love. Haunted by fiery visions of death, James realizes that Deirdre and Nuala are being hunted by the Fey and plunges into a soul-scorching battle with the Queen of the Fey to save their lives.

I myself was hesitant to pick up Ballad after being underwhelmed with Lament but Maggie Steifvater is too amazing of an author to ignore so I picked up the second book in the two book series Books of Faerie. I can’t tell you happy I was that I gave the book a chance because it was soooooooo good.

Stiefvater’s writing is lyrical and her story building is captivating. But it is the characters that bring this novel to a new level. The male protagonist is not your typical brooding hero type. He’s an average guy that likes to be goofy and loves music. It was refreshing to read such a relatable character. The female character reminds me of Megara from Disney’s Hercules; a girl who is aware and sharp. The two characters surrounded by the mythology of faeries made for a wonderful read.

To my surprise I haven’t seen one mention of Stiefvater’s Lament anywhere in the blogging world. Now as I said before, the minute I publish this a million people will comment about how they’ve already read it. Well I don’t care. I love this book and I would like to see it talked about more in the world of blogging.

What book do you wish more people would have read? Share it below and happy reading.

13 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 24

  1. You had me at like Meg form Hercules. 🙂 I read a book the sounds similar to this one and I really hated it (I forget the title) but I really liked the concept of that book, it was just terribly done. I will add this to my list.

  2. I think my friend owns that book! (Claim to fame, LOL.) I have her Shiver and Linger, I’ve owned them for ages and haven’t gotten around to them. Have you read those? I’ve heard good things about The Scorpio Races and The Raven Boys too, (I think they’re both by her if memory serves) so she seems to be a well loved author, although as you say I also think a lot of people haven’t heard of her. She’s well known, but she’s not Stieg Larsson level known!

    • The Shiver trilogy is wonderful! She has such a delicate way of writing that it really adds to the anticipation in the story. You should definitely get to those soon! I haven’t gotten to The Scorpio Races or The Raven Boys yet but I mean too soon, because the lady can write! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  3. Nope, haven’t heard of this author either! Gah this is one of the best things about blogging – the discovery of all these books/authors that I never would have known otherwise! 😀 I agree with the first commenter up there, the comparison with Megara is fabulous and makes me want to read this! (Who doesn’t like Hercules?! It was on ABC Family this weekend and you know I was totes watching some of it >.>) I will add this to my GoodReads, too. Great pick and post today, Lindsey! 😀

Leave a Reply

