30 Day Book Challenge: Day 23

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 23: A Book You Wanted to Read for a Long Time But Still Haven’t

Today’s challenge makes me so excited. I love talking about books I long for and all the possibilities it holds! While there are many books that I’ve been meaning to get to for a long time there is one that takes the cake. A book that already has two movie adaptations out, is a widely popular young adult novel and is based on one of my favorite things– Greek mythology.

That’s right! The Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan.

The first I heard about this series was when the movie was just about to come out. Usually that would inflame me to go out and get the book right away but I was in the middle of senior year and had too many books ahead on the list. Then the movie came out and I watched it and thought it was okay.

Little did I know that there was a massive uproar from fans of the books in a rage. Apparently the movie (although it was cute) did not follow the story at all. I have to say I was a bit relieved when I heard this. I had heard so many great things about camp half-blood that I had begun to get so excited! But after seeing the movie my excitement kind of deflated as I could find nothing really special about it in the movie.

So when I heard that the movie got it wrong I was filled with eager anticipation. I had to get a hold of the book but for some reason it never happened. For holidays I got other books on my wish list and those on top of the books I already had and had not yet read did not give me a reason to justify buying another book.

It’s not just the hype that has me eagerly awaiting this book it’s also the fact that the novel is steeped in Greek mythology. This is something I have always been incredibly fascinated by and studied thoroughly. I enjoyed reading about the jealous gods trivialities and their giant consequences. They were basically worshipped human with powers which is an interesting concept. So the fact that there is a whole series based on the many stories in Greek mythology has me jumping up and down in excitement for this book.

Is there a novel out there that you’ve been meaning to get to but just haven’t yet? Share it below and happy reading!

11 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 23

  1. TLT movie did suck!! And although I love this series as much as I love Harry Potter, the first book wasn’t my favorite anyway. You should definitely read it, once you start, you will fly through them!!

    I have too many books to pinpoint a book I wanted to read the longest. But I read a few from my oldest TBR so I’m good and happy right now.

  2. The Lightning Thief (the whole series really) is incredible! And a lot more developed than the book 😉 Plus, the mythology is really well done, with a lot of minor myths incorporated. The more you’ve read of mythology, the more you’ll get the allusions, and a lot of them are actually pretty hysterical! Definitely an “I see what you did there!” kind of series.

    • Oh yay! Now you’ve got my anticipation so high I don’t know what to do with myself! Good to know about the mythology as I’ve seen authors try to incorporate it and it not turn out so great. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I believe that you will like the book. It was fun to read the series, however I agree with the skeptical reader that the first one was not my favorite, but it was fun and adventurous. Enjoy!

  4. I’m very undecided on whether I want to try this series! So many people labelled it as the next Harry Potter that it put me off. :/ Then like you, I saw the movie and was very underwhelmed, nothing about it struck me as that interesting other than the mythology, but even that didn’t enamor me and usually that sort of thing would!
    I’m sure the series is great because everyone says so, but I can’t see myself picking it up in the near future… I would love to see what you thought of them though, maybe a positive review would make me pick it up. 🙂

  5. I’m in agreement with Becky on this one. I’ve seen the books around/advertised but never got involved or interested, but I’m excited that *you’re* excited to read it, and hopefully if your reviews are positive then maybe we’ll all have our opinions changed! XD
    Nice post on this challenge, Lindsey! 🙂

  6. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 23- A Book I’ve Wanted to Read for a Long Time but Still Haven’t | Shelf-Made Girl

Leave a Reply

