Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdayIn the famous words of Snow White, “I’m wishing (I’m wishing) for the one I love, to find me (to find me) today.” In this case (actually in most cases) the one that I love is a book.

I came about Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf.

This week while browsing on the wonderful site that is Goodreads I discovered In the Woods by Tana French

237209As dusk approaches a small Dublin suburb in the summer of 1984, mothers begin to call their children home. But on this warm evening, three children do not return from the dark and silent woods. When the police arrive, they find only one of the children gripping a tree trunk in terror, wearing blood-filled sneakers, and unable to recall a single detail of the previous hours.

Twenty years later, the found boy, Rob Ryan, is a detective on the Dublin Murder Squad and keeps his past a secret. But when a twelve-year-old girl is found murdered in the same woods, he and Detective Cassie Maddox—his partner and closest friend—find themselves investigating a case chillingly similar to the previous unsolved mystery. Now, with only snippets of long-buried memories to guide him, Ryan has the chance to uncover both the mystery of the case before him and that of his own shadowy past.

I simply don’t read enough thrillers and I don’t know why. Well, actually I do know why, it’s because I always go for fantasy novels and turn away from everything else. Not today. While on Goodreads I saw the cover and it captured my attention. I read the synopsis and was on the edge of my seat.

What happened in the woods in the summer of 1984? Isn’t that question driving all of you mad? I’m already brainstorming theories but I haven’t read enough thrillers for any to sound plausible. This story sounds like it will grip me from the beginning and hold me hostage until I finish it. Yes, I’m definitely looking at an all nighter here.

The only other thriller novels I’ve read are the Millenium trilogy and The Lincoln Lawyer. Both were well executed (though the Millenium trilogy could have done without the word IKEA repeated a million times) and both opened my eyes to a whole new genre. I don’t generally watch detective shows because I find them SO predictable that it takes all the fun out of watching. I thought the same would be with books but I was so incredibly wrong.

This genre, though eerie, is fascinating. It takes you inside the mind of cold-blooded killers and keeps you there in horror. I have no doubt In the Woods will cause me to check the lock on my door twice but I know the read will be worth it.

Does this book look good to you or are thrillers not really your thing? What are you wishing for this Wednesday? Share it below and happy reading!

19 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday

  1. I’ve heard such good things about this book — and I actually picked up a copy at a used book sale last year (still haven’t found time to read it though). Among thriller readers, Tana French is huge. I hope you enjoy it! One of these days, I’ll read it too. 🙂

    Lisa
    My WW

  2. Okay so, this is my favorite Wishlist Wednesday I’ve seen you post yet. I have seen the cover of this book numerous times but I never read about it, and now that I read your post, I MUST *right now!* add it on my wish list! It sounds excellent. I’m in the same boat, too. I don’t really read many thrillers… I can’t even think of any I’ve read since Dan Brown… >.> But this sounds way better in a different kind of way! Thanks for sharing this with us Lindsey! 😀

      • Definitely! I just added it to my Nook wish list, but somehow I have to manage to make it through Trainspotting first :/ I was really excited about it until I bought the book and realized it’s all in Scottish eye-dialect, and looks like “The sweat wis lashing oafay Sick Boy; he wis trembling. Ah wis jist sitting thair, focusing oan the telly…” Dear god, help me D: How’s the Stand going btw? Gotta read that some time!

      • Oh man that does not sound fun, I wish you luck my friend!

        I’m really enjoying the Stand but it’s not a fast read by any means so it’s taking forever. King’s character development is superb literally, he is mega talented in that area. But there’s so many characters so every time he introduces a new one I get frustrated because I want to read more about my favorite character, but overall that’s a good thing. Thanks for asking, yeah a book review is definitely not going to happen this week. [Hangs head in shame].

  3. I tend to steer clear of thrillers (at least the gory ones). One of the projects I have been considering undertaking though is something I’ve dubbed “Judge a book by its cover”. Walk into a bookstore and pick a book solely on the title and image on the cover. No reading of the back cover allowed 😉 That should certainly expand my horizons, don’t you think? 😉

    • That sounds like very risky business, pretty covers can be quite decieving and I’ve fallen victim many a times. But it can also have the opposite effect and get you hooked on an author that you never knew about.

      I say go for it, even if you don’t like what you pick it will be a learning experience. I hope it goes well for you and I hope you share your thoughts! 🙂

    • Yeah for some reason I’m always hesitant to try them but the few that I have tried I’ve enjoyed thoroughly so I think I’ll give this a try. I’ll let you know if it’s any good! 🙂

  4. I don’t really read many thrillers. I don’t really enjoy books that take place in the present. I want to read about the past, the future or a time that’s never existed (as in fantasy). If it’s in the present is gotta have some magical quality to it. Otherwise I get bored. This book doesn’t intrigue me but I hope you do a blog post on it when you’ve read it. I’m interested to know if it’s as good as you hope it is.

    • You’ve put it quite perfectly, I’m not usually interested in the here and now without any magical element, which is why I don’t usually try thrillers. But the ones I’ve read have gained some respect from so I think I’ll give this one a try. Thank you, I hope it’s as good as I hope too! 🙂

  5. I read In The Woods awhile ago and yes, it was creepy, but fascinating all the same! It’s a true thriller and I hope you enjoy it – in my opinion, it’s better than the Millennium series. (:

  6. I haven’t read this one, and I don’t read many thrillers, but I did have a friend recommend it to me when I first entered the blogging world. She constantly raves about that author, so I don’t think you can go wrong. Plus, you know, that cover’s pretty nice 😉

  7. Pingback: Post-Book Blues and the Book Hauls That Follow + Opinions on The Hunger Games Trilogy | Revolution For Breakfast

Leave a Reply

