30 Day Book Challenge: Day 18

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 18: A Book That Made You Laugh

Yay, a question that doesn’t break my heart or is incredibly hard. A book that succeeded in making me laugh was The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

Unfortunately I can’t explain what made me laugh without a spoiling a certain moment in the book so: SPOILER ALERT, you’ve been warned.

I think if you’ve read the book you know exactly what part I’m talking about.

Throughout the book Minnie keeps referring to a horrible thing in which she did to her previous employer in which she will never talk about. Well, it becomes necessary to reveal her secret and her secret is this:

Minnie is famous for her chocolate pies. So after her employer unfairly fires her she returns with a chocolate pie to make ‘amends’. As her employer is eating the pie she is toying with Minnie about hiring her back. Minnie promptly announces “Eat my shit.” (Please excuse the language, this is what she says in the novel). It is then that we discover that Minnie has indeed put her ‘waste’ in the pie and allowed her owner to eat it.

When I read this part in the book I had to close it for a full five minutes because I couldn’t stop laughing. It makes it funnier too because the employer seriously had it coming, she was one evil lady. So to see her humiliated in such a way was a shining and hilarious moment.

What is a book that made you laugh? Share it below and happy reading!

8 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 18

  1. I liked this book even more than the movie because you got to see the characters be more 3 dimensional. For example I love how Kathryn Stockett made Hilly a great mother and they totally left that part out in the movie! The pie part was so fun. The amount of times I laugh or freak out or cry seemingly out of the blue while reading, my family must think I’m crazy.

    • You’re totally right, the characters were much more fleshed out in the book though I did enjoy the movie. I’m convinced that my family thinks I’m crazy by the number of moments I cry out from laughter or tears while reading! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. I couldn’t actually read the post because I intend to read the book at some point (thanks for the fair spoiler warning!), but I’m glad that you enjoyed the book and that it made you laugh! It gives me hopes for my future reading, lol.
    Nice pick! 😀

  3. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed The Help! I’m not sure why but I just wasn’t expecting to like it, so I was glad when I did. 🙂

    I have to say, I didn’t see that ‘thing’ coming at all! It made me laugh too, I kept trying to work out what it was throughout the whole book drawing a blanks and when I found out I almost couldn’t believe what I had read.

    Great choice today!

Leave a Reply

