The Liebster Award

liebster-awardIt started off as just an average day when I woke up. I crawled out of bed and snuggled with my grandparents poodles and logged on to what has since taken over my life: WordPress.

I saw the bright orange icon at the top of the screen and smiled because it always means good news. I clicked it and realized that it was greater than I expected because it notified me that the lovely Kayla @ The Thousand Lives had nominated me for the Liebster Award. Suddenly, my day didn’t seem so average.

Thank you so much Kayla, it means so much to me that people even read my blog let alone enjoy it. Congratulations yourself on being nominated as you most certainly deserved it!

First for those that are unaware the Liebster Award is supposed to recognize those blogs that are of the up-and-coming sort. (So imagine my blush when I found out that Kayla nominated me)!

Now, the rules are as follows:

  1. Link back the blogger that tagged you
  2. Nominate ten others and answer the questions of the one who tagged you
  3. Ask ten questions for the bloggers you nominate
  4. Let your nominees know of their award

The Questions from Kayla

1. How long did it take you to settle in to your blog (how you wanted to write, how you wanted to lay out your posts, what sort of graphics you wanted to use, what theme to use, etc.)?

I would say it took me about two months to finally find my groove. I finally started organizing my blog, planning out what I wanted to write and designing my blog to better suit my tastes. That in no way means that I don’t need improvements, there are still things that I’m constantly tweaking.

2. How long have you been blogging, and what made you start blogging?

I am fairly new to the blogging world having started May 22nd of this year. It was my mom that said I should blog about books as I’m always finishing books and bugging people to read them too so I can discuss them.

3. Give me a profile of yourself (age, location, job, school, some favorites, etc)?

Alright! I’m 21, I live in Central California (farming county), I work as a Food Service Aide for a high school. Some of my favorite things include: Runts– favorite candy; Pineapple– favorite fruit; Christmas– favorite holiday; Mrs. May– favorite English teacher; Joey– favorite F.R.I.E.N.D.S. character; Newsroom– currently favorite show.

4. What was your best memory in high school?

Performing in the high school play, Blithe Spirit. I played Edith, the maid (but I stole the show) 😉

5. Who inspires you, and why?

My sister Hayley, she is younger than me but so much stronger even though she doesn’t believe it. She enjoys life and I know she will get all that she wants out of it.

6. What are your three favorite books?

This is an unbelievably hard question, but at the top of my head: To Kill a Mockingbird, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, and Ella Enchanted.

7. What book has influenced you the most in your life?

To Kill a Mockingbird, it taught me to always look at things with a new perspective.

8. Which character would be your best friend, if they were in the flesh?

Hmmm…probably Lucy from the Chronicles of Narnia as I’m so ready to believe in magic.

9. What is your favorite book to movie adaptation?

The entire Lord of the Rings trilogy, it was so well done!

10. If you could say one thing to your favorite author, what would it be and who would it be to?

Thank you, because no other words could do justice.

My 10 nominees include:

  1. Dewey Decimal’s Butler
  2. Classy Cat Books
  3. Blogs-of-a-Bookaholic
  4. Revolution for Breakfast
  5. The Knee Deep Life
  6. Storytime With Buffy
  7. Jann Lee
  8. NutFreeNerd
  9. The Chronicles of Radiya
  10. Book Adoration

My Questions for my nominees include:

1. What is something you are determined to do before you die?

2. What is a memory that makes you smile?

3. Where do you prefer to read?

4. Do you have a hero or heroine? Why are they so?

5. Are you a dog person or a cat person?

6. How do you fight writer’s block?

7. What is your favorite thing about blogging?

8. Do you have any recommendations for other bloggers?

9. Do you like it when it’s a sunny day or a cloudy day?

10. Are a fast reader or slow reader?

Thank you again Kayla for the nomination and I look forward to seeing all of my nominee’s posts. Happy reading everybody!

25 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I agree about the LOTR Trilogy!! Fav book-to-movie adaption!! And now–behold, for I have discovered your blog, and will read and read and follow your blog and comment up a storm (I do that to all awesome blogs, so beware xD). 😀 Just a friendly warning. Lol

  2. Congratulations, Lindsey! And awh, thank you so much. I don’t even know how this fantastic idea works so I’m trying to stumble my way around with it. *rereads your directions* Okay, I think I got it! I just have to figure out how to link people >.> *carefully goes to post new blog…*

  3. Holy cow, you are always getting this awards, Lindsey! You are so loved ❤ Totally agree with you on To Kill A Mockingbird. If any book could change someone's perspective on something, it's that book. And I am with you on #1. I am always trying to improve my blog 😀

    Thanks for nominating me!

  4. First, congratulations Lindsey!(: I’m so excited for you!! You are so deserving of this award! I always love reading your posts and your comments. And second, thank you so much for nominating me(: I really appreciate it! Also…not to give anything away, but the post I wrote this morning that will be making an appearance tomorrow has a surprise for you as well! 😀

    • Thank you! And seriously, you are VERY deserving of this award as well and I want people to know about your blog as it’s always filled with quality posts. (Yay, I’m so excited, now the rest of today is going to go by so slow). 🙂

  5. Congrats, and thanks so much for nominating me! I can only hope to write a post half as good as this one is. 🙂 and you’ve asked some awesome questions that I can’t wait to answer!

  6. Pingback: Reaping The Liebster Nominees! | Revolution For Breakfast

  7. I’m wayyyyyyy late to the party BUT thanks for nominating me Lindsey! Somehow this got buried away in my other emails and I’ve only just had the chance to read it. I will definitely be answering your fun questions but probably not until after the 30 Day Book Challenge.

    You so deserve this award, I can’t believe you’ve been blogging for such a small amount of time, you’re so good at it. 🙂

    • Yeah, the 30 Day Book Challenge is sucking up the majority of my time as well!

      Thank you very much, that means a lot to me especially coming from you since you’re such a talented blogger. 🙂

      Looking forward to your post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

