Bloggin’ Recap

bloggin'recapWelcome to my first ever Bloggin’ Recap. A new feature inspired by A Bookish Heart. Every Sunday I’ll get the chance to tell you what’s going on in my life, what I’ve posted for the week, what to expect in the upcoming week and posts I enjoyed from other bloggers.

In the Real World:

The school year has finally begun so that means I’m back to work! I work as a Food Service Aide (fancy terms for lunch lady) and it’s only a part-time job while I’m in school. Oddly enough I really like it, the people are work with are such characters and always make work fun. Tomorrow I actually test for a job that will bring more hours and higher pay raise so even though I’ll be sorry to say goodbye to my lovely co-workers, keep your fingers crossed for me!

I’ve been in the midst of preparations for next month as I am directing a play, Bus Stop for my local theater. I still haven’t quite worked out how I’ll be doing work, directing and blogging but I’ll find a way, blogging has become too important to me to give up.

I started The Stand by Stephen King on Friday, and realized that the edition I’m reading is the “Complete and Uncut” edition making it a whopping 1153 pages long. I’m going to try to finish on time to review this upcoming week but…I don’t know if it’s physically possible. The good news is I’m 100 pages in and really liking it! As my first Stephen King novel I was a bit intimidated but he’s a fantastic author, gripping me with his writing from the first page.

That’s all the news from me this week, how did your week turn out?

What I’ve Posted This Week:

I’m proud to say that I’ve been doing well at keeping up with the 30 Day Book Challenge, I’ve posted:

Along with the challenge I’ve posted:

Posts to Look Forward to this Upcoming Week:

  • What kind of Book Shelf Person are You?
  • Converting People to the Bookworm religion

Posts from Blogging Buddies that I’ve enjoyed this Week:

That’s the end of today’s recap, what was this week like for you? Read anything good? Do anything fun? Share it below and happy reading!

28 thoughts on “Bloggin’ Recap

  1. The lunch staff always look like they’re having a good time. Good luck on the job interview. And I do think you’re the busiest person on my blog feed. Kudos for all your hard work. Oh, and thanks for the shout out.

  2. *crosses her fingers for Lindsey* I hope you get the job! The lunch staff in my school are a mixture of personalities. There is the one who is always grumpy (I assume that she hates us. One time I was gathering up my stuff and she kept yelling at me across the room to get out), the one that is super nice (everyone loves her), the one who dyes half of her hair red and leaves the other half grey, the one that NEVER talks unless she has to, and then there are the others that I never got the chance to see face-to-face. So yeah, lunch ladies can be pretty interesting 😛

    And now I am rambling about lunch ladies. I never thought I would ever do that 😛

  3. I loved working in a kitchen when I was in school—it was surprisingly fun even though I often felt like I smelled funny when I got back home. Thanks for the link! 🙂

    • Awww, I’m glad you liked it. Yes, unfortunately I work outside during lunch time, so when it’s hot (like it has been lately) I’m a smelly and sweaty mess. (Man, thats a bad visual). Thanks for reading! 🙂

      • Oooh, the great outdoors. And you’re in CA, right? I bet that gets hot … I didn’t have to work outside, but I was working in a retirement home, where the residents would complain about it being too cold while we were sweating our butts off (if it was anything .<

  4. My week was golden thank you for asking. Good luck! Really school has started for you already? That is unfortunate I guess, but sounds like you are having a good time. Thanks for linking me!

  5. Ooh more recap posts! I love these! Especially since you’ve linked posts at blogs I’ve never heard of before. I’m off to check them off now!

    Oh but first, good luck testing for the new job! Working, directing, and blogging sounds like quite the handful. I hope you find a happy compromise between all three 🙂

  6. Ooooh man you’re a busy bee, but that’s great! Congratulations on your directorial position! I didn’t even know you did theater?!!?! that’s fabulous. I would totes not blame you one speck if you couldn’t finish that mammoth King book right away. It took me ages to read “IT” and I really liked it (no pun intended). He’s another one… I love his work and yet … sometimes… it could use some unapologetic editing -.- I haven’t read the Stand but I love the tv miniseries from the 90s and I’m sure the book can only be better. Good luck with all your endeavors this coming week, and thanks for tagging me here! 😀

    • You made me crack up with your no pun intended comment! Thanks, I love theater but I’m usually acting and this is my first time directing so I’m a wee bit nervous but really excited at the same time. Thanks for reading! 🙂

    • Hey, I just checked out your blog and you’ve made some really cool changes, especially that background, it’s gorgeous! As far as the name, while it’s a good one, I would go back to what you had before. If there’s one thing I regret it’s choosing a long name for my blog. So I would go back to From Cover to Cover. In your sidebar I would include a widgets follow option that allows the reader to subscribe by email that way those that are not WordPress members can find an easy was to follow you, and you should make that widget pretty high up as you don’t want them to have to look for it. Also your book reviews are REALLY good, seriously I can tell they are very thought out. I would make a page of book reviews you’ve posted (and even some of you planned but this isn’t necessary) that way a reader can find a book they are interested in without having to scroll down your homepage forever. It’s all about making your blog easy to read and use. You’ve done really great so far and your posts are top quality so don’t worry you’ll have many more followers soon.

Leave a Reply

