30 Day Book Challenge: Day 17

picsart_1375358545585Good morning fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 17: Favorite Quote from Book

I’m sorry but there is just no way to choose ONE quote as there are many that have resonated with me over the years. So read on to find out a FEW of my favorite quotes from books.

1. “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”– The Lorax by Dr. Suess

I know that many associate this with environmentalism but it can be used for so many things. We have to stop complaining about what’s wrong with our lives and start BEING the change that we want to see. Hate your job? Quit and go after your dream job! Feel overweight? Do something about it! Irritated with today’s politicians? Get involved! I am more than guilty of whining about my life but every once in a while I see this quote and I’m inspired to change it, I hope you are too.

2. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that”– Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

First let me say, it was so hard to choose just one quote from Harry Potter but I made myself do it for you guys, otherwise we would be here all day. I love this quote because it’s saying to live in the present. I’m always thinking well, ‘when I graduate college life will begin, or I can’t way to get my dream job so I can finally start my life.’ Or it’s the exact opposite, I’m wishing for the good old days when I was a little girl who was easily satisfied with Disney movies and McDonald’s. What I need to remember is that life is right NOW. You have to start living life in the present and stop looking behind and ahead of you. Don’t wait to enjoy life until you get that job promotion you’ve been waiting for and don’t wait to go out until you’ve lost a little wait. Go now! Travel somewhere even if it’s just a part of town you haven’t seen before. Do what you love to do, because THIS is the time to do it.

3. “Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.”– The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

When I first read this I had to stop to think what it meant to me. I thought about the small things in life, arguing with my sisters over shotgun, making cookie dough with my poppa, opening a book and I realized, what Green says is true. Some things matter more than others. The universe will go on existing and leave us all behind but my memories will go on forever even after I am dead because they were shared, because I was loved and loved in return. That will last forever even when there is only darkness. (I’m not usually so corny, I swear)!

4. “I think there’s just one kind of folks. Folks.”– To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Scout puts it quite perfectly for us. We are all human no matter what color, race, sex, sexual orientation, fat, thin, handicapped, sensitive, tough, blonde, brunette or red-head we are the same. We all have to sleep and eat to survive. We all have noses, ears and eyes. We may talk and look differently, but we live on the same planet. I am the same as an 80-year-old man in Saudi Arabia because we are both HUMAN. Ironically part of being human is forgetting that truth, but we must remind ourselves every day! We are all people, and that’s why I love this quote because it stays the truth: No human is fundamentally better than the other.

What’s your favorite quote from a book? Share it below and happy reading!

11 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 17

  1. Here I stagger in, a couple days late but determined to throw in my 2 cents! 😄
    You picked great quotes, Lindsey – I love all of them! I wasn’t familiar with the Green one but it’s profound and I love your interpretation of it. I wish I could add pictures in comments because I have a Harry Potter pic I found on Tumblr where he and Dumbledore are having that exchange, which is without a doubt one of the most profound quotes in the series, especially considering he’s saying it to an 11 year old boy. Andy you’re right – Harry Potter is a wealth of quotes to live by, which is really saying something fantastic about JKR (is there enough we can say about her? Probably not ever). Another one of my favorite HP ones is Dumbledore’s “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” Guh, Dumbles (my pet name for him) has so many great moments it’s hard to comprehend them all. I love these quotes – great choices!

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – DAY 28 | Read. Run. Study.

  3. Pingback: Reflecting on the 30 Day Book Challenge | Read. Run. Study.

Leave a Reply

