30 Day Book Challenge: Day 16

picsart_1375358545585Good morning fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 16: Your Favorite Genre

Well in case you don’t already know, I like many different types of genres. When I pick a genre it usually means I’m in the mood for it. Sometimes I just feel like watching Elizabeth Bennett snub Mr. Darcy for his offensive proposal or I feel like visiting a dinosaur park that will turn out to be a nightmare (normal feelings). Sometimes I want to read about different cultures and sometimes I want to read about different worlds.

There is one genre however that no matter what mood I’m in I can always read with excitement.

Fantasy

As a child I fell in love with the idea that there was more to this average world that meets the eye. I felt sure that my Hogwarts letter would come in the mail (even when I was well pass the acceptance age), I looked for Middle Earth on the map hoping to find directions to the Shire and pay a visit to a certain hobbit at Bag End. I wanted to go hunting (but not kill anything) just to see if a dragon egg would appear for me only to hatch and become my best friend.

Fantasy for me was the glimmer of hope that magic existed. Even if it was small and hard to find, fantasy books made me feel like it was there, breathing the same air as me. I had no interest in reading books like my life where a girl goes to middle school and has to endure the longest lunch line ever; there was no fun in that. I wanted to believe that I was meant for greater things like becoming a Queen of a land that lies in a wardrobe. I was the child that believed in Santa even after my parents said he wasn’t real. (Grownups always try to rationalize everything).

Fantasy novels provide the greatest escapes from our everyday lives and always seem to be about finding hope, good conquering evil and normal people like me finding out they could do extraordinary things. I guess to this day I still feel the same way, as if I’ll discover a world that is hidden to us and save the world as we know it with nothing but a golden compass and my ability for making friends.

Fantasy has made me believe that an epic adventure awaits me, and I’ll always be grateful for that feeling.

What is your favorite genre? Why? Share it below and happy reading!

20 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 16

  1. I would have to pick fantasy as well in all it’s forms, after all, dystopian and paranormal romance and the supernatural are also elements of fantasy even though they are their own genre’s! I love anything with a slightly magical or fantastical element to it but I love books without this too (just not normally as much).

    Having said that, over the last two years or so I have read so much YA, I’m really into it at the moment especially as it’s easy to read when you have a lot of deadlines. Having said that, most of that YA has aspects of fantasy in it. 😉

    Great choice. 🙂

  2. Now, try not to laugh but this blog actually made me teary! 😄 You phrased everything about Fantasy so beautifully that I’m sure all Fantasy lovers must be touched by the way you describe the genre. This paragraph was the particular tearjerker for me: “Fantasy for me was the glimmer of hope that magic existed…” And the sentence “… and normal people like me finding out they could do extraordinary things” reminds me so much of a line from The 10th Kingdom (a great mini-series, I can’t say it enough!) when the heroine Virginia says in the beginning: “My name is Virginia and I live on the edge of the forest… well, kind of. My dad works as a janitor and that’s how we got an apartment right on the edge of Central Park…” eventually followed by something like “And that’s the way it is, you know. I guess some people are just meant to live ordinary lives” right before she’s propelled into a world of adventure. Life itself is a great adventure but it’s really only through the Fantasy genre that we can feel that “hope” you mention, the hope for something extraordinary. Beautiful post! *suppresses tears*

    • Awww thank you so much! I really appreciate that especially from you because you’re such a talented writer. I really must read that book as it sounds right up my alley! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  3. I can’t really add much to that. I feel the same way, although it’s not always magicky fantasy that captures my interest. I think that I would broaden it and say that I like stories that are other-wordly. Awesome post, as always! 🙂

    • Historical Fiction is really great, some of my favortie books are in the historical fiction genre (I love history too). But for me fantasy books are home, somewhere I’m always welcome. I’m glad you enjoy them as well, thank you for reading! 🙂

  4. Great explanation of why you love fantasy! I agree that it’s nice to just completely escape the ordinary every now and then. I could write a pretty long blog post about my favorite genre too, but for now I’ll just say it’s realistic fiction – because the well-written ones show that even in contemporary life, you can exceed expectations, overcome tremendous hardship, etc. And the characters can be quite easy to relate to and cheer for. Once again fantastic post!

  5. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 16: NSYNC With Every Kind of Book | Revolution For Breakfast

Leave a Reply

