30 Day Book Challenge: Day 15

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 15: You Five Favorite Characters of All Time

I don’t know if anyone realizes how big this question really is but let me tell you it gave me a complex. I mean, how does somebody ask a reader that and not expect a baffled response? I cherish so many characters in a variety of novels and each character gives me something the others can’t. It’s like my dreadful Deserted Island Interview dream when I was asked which five books I would bring with me to be stranded on a deserted island. (Maybe a manual for how to get off a deserted island)? But unfortunately the book lords of this challenge demand an answer and an answer I shall give (though reluctantly).

Please note that though the characters I am about to announce are among my favorites, I HAVE NO IDEA IF THEY ARE MY FAVORITES OF ALL TIME, I just can’t put somebody under the category right now. I know you book readers understand.

First off, I fell in love with two characters in one book and since then they have followed me throughout life; guiding my decisions with her wisdom and giving me the giggles at non-funny situations with his humor. They are two characters that I watched grow up, fall in love (with each other) and support their very best friend who happens to have a scar in the shape of a lightening bolt on his forehead. Can you guess now? That’s right, Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley.

It comes down to the way Rowling was able to portray these characters, she made them feel so real as if they were sitting in front of you arguing over whether Hermione’s cat ate Ron’s rat. (Oh how we wish). I could relate to Hermione in the sense that I cared a great bit about doing well in school and I was a somewhat of a stickler for following rules. I loved the fact that Hermione gave smart girls in literature more respect, proving that a boy would not unravel her brains and that she was capable of facing danger as much as any boy. (I don’t know who would have the guts to stand up to the girl, honestly).

Good old Ronald Weasley. Harry was so lucky to have him as a guide to the wizarding world as Ron would talk about something even if he didn’t know anything about it. He was a real, breathing character to me. He was overshadowed in his family and so craved attention, he was a mediocre student and he was loyal to almost a fault. His dry humor made for such fun moments in the books and I often think of what he would say at real life situations I encounter. He was a normal boy who did extraordinary things and (even though many try to pass it off) that is rare to find in today’s literature. (Plus he’s a red-head, which automatically scores him points in my book).

That’s two, I owe you guys three more. (You guys have no idea at how hard this is).

Another favorite of mine became a favorite only recently but won me over from the first page. She was a young girl who helped readers understand things grown ups didn’t get. We watched how her innocent days of playing outside were stripped away as she learned that the world isn’t always a great place. Oh, and her last name was Finch, can you guess now?

Scout Finch won me over from the minute I learned that she was only seven years old and ready to whoop anybody that insulted her or her family. She showed us how far kindness can take you and how hopeless some situations can be. When it comes down to it though, its her age that I love about her most. I love the way she thinks so logically because her mind isn’t clouded by all the boring grown up stuff such as “He said hi, now what could that mean”, Scout would simply say “Hi” back and not give it another moment’s thought. For being only seven years old Scout has a strong voice and you can’t help but smile as you hear it.

Few! Three done and only two more to go…

This is another character that I read recently and fell in love with immediately. She has to be one of the most different characters I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. She’s tattooed and weighs less than 100 pounds, she has her own ethics code and will not hesitate to kill someone (SERIOUSLY, don’t sneak up on this woman) but as tough as she maybe she’s still just a girl vulnerable enough to have body issues. She is Lisbeth Salander.

What I love about Lisbeth is that I’ve never read anyone like her. She’s funny in the way she thinks and acts in almost a computer like way completely without emotions just to show the reader that not only is she capable of feeling emotions but capable of showing them too. She made me feel like I could take anyone with just a hammer and she taught me not to be afraid. I also like how hard it is to get to know the real Lisbeth as if you have to keep hacking away at her shell but once you do it’s so rewarding. You discover her dry humor, her fears and her failures as person. She suddenly transforms from that weird kid in class who you are slightly afraid of to a friend you’ve known forever (and are slightly afraid of).

Thank goodness this is the last one because I could feel all the characters from books I’ve read giving me dirty glares. (The book lords made me do it, I swear).

This is the kind of guy you want on your side. In fact if he is on your side you’re pretty sure you’re going to dominate. But it’s not because he is an especially skilled fighter (although he kind of is) it’s because he knows what to do in every situation. He’s always got a plan (though he doesn’t always explain them) and he speaks in riddles. Okay, now you’ve got to know who I’m talking about! Here’s a hint he’s one of the two most famous wizards in literature, not Dumbledore but the other one.

Gandalf the Grey (and later the White). This guy is a figure-head in literature and lets face it you compare every wizard you come across to him (and Dumbledore). While I love that he is brilliant and determined, I love most his compassion. For a grumpy wizard sometimes, he cares an awful lot about Middle Earth, about peace and mainly about four little hobbits who have gotten themselves wrapped up in a mess. It is because of his compassion that he succeeds, he believes in Bilbo even when the dwarves do not, he believes in Frodo when the Fellowship does not and above all he believes that great things can come from small creatures. Gandalf is without a doubt the fictional character I would want to meet in life (partly to see his fireworks)!

That was hard and I don’t want to do it again. 😉

What is you favorite character of all time? Can you name your top 5? Share it below and happy reading!

12 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 15

  1. I don’t blame you, I have no idea how I’m going to answer this question! As for your picks, I can only comment on 4 of the 5 (I haven’t read the Millennium books) but I do know that with those four alone you picked great choices! Granted… I’m not keen on Ron, but! everything you said about him is true and he does bring a great comic levity to the books. If only he weren’t such a jerk to Hermione arghaglebargle but anyways, great post! XD

  2. This is a great topic! Much easier to do 5 rather than having to choose only one. You’ve made some excellent choices. My choices would be:

    Quasimodo (Notre Dame de Paris by Victor Hugo) He’s sweet, loyal and has a kind heart. I have a soft spot for anyone who is persecuted or looked down upon.

    Gar Torvig (Innocent Mage and Awakened Mage by Karen Miller) He’s a prince who has no magic and is looked down upon by his peers because of it. He manages to stay classy and not rise to their taunts and insults. Also, he’s super intellectual. Again, soft spot.

    Alexia Tarabotti (Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger) She’s super smart and not considered conventionally beautiful. But she saves the world several times AND gets the hot guy and is utterly fashionable throughout it all.

    Jamie Fraser (Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon) What’s not to like about this guy? He’s gorgeous, Scottish, intensely loyal, actiony and basically ALL THE THINGS! These are pretty much the only romance books I’ll read. *swoon*

    Ayla (Earth’s Children series by Jean M Auel) She’s amazing. She’s also super smart and learns how to take care of herself and survive in a prehistoric world. She doesn’t need to depend on a man to take care of her and to kill saber-tooths (or is it teeth?) for her. She is so badass but is still humble and sweet.

    • Wow they sound like great choices even though I haven’t read any of those books. I know about Quasimodo but I’m afraid my knowledge is limited to the Disney version so I’m sure it doesn’t do him justice, but just from that film I admired Quasimodo for his kindness and fierce loyalty.

      The Outlander series has been on my get-to-eventually list for a while because I’ve heard amazing things about it. Good to know that I can look forward to a major hunkie too! 😉

  3. I thought this would be easy until I actually started to try to narrow down some names…. there are just way too many! I’m just going to stop here. 🙂

  4. Ha ha, lol’d at your Salander comment.

    I LOVE GANDALF, AND BILBO, AND ARAGORN, AND LEGOLAS, AND BASICALLY JUST EVERYONE FROM LOTR. 😀

    I just can’t pick man, this question is too hard….I guess maybe Luna (since I mentioned her before, urm, Katniss maybe? But that’s probably because it’s current right now so has stuck in my mind. I’m stumped.

  5. I admire you for being able to answer this question. I would have probably just ran away 😛 *some* of my favorite characters include:

    Kami from Unspoken: She is such of an oddball and never fails to make me laugh.

    Conor and the monster from A Monster Calls: These two are just so unforgettable.

    Cameron from The Miseducation of Cameron Post: She is such of a honest character even though she is very flawed.

    Death from The Book Thief: He managed to make me feel very at ease…. Even though he is Death. He deserves to be on this list.

    • I loved Death too and was so surprised at how much I like him, Markus Zusak wrote him very well. I haven’t read any of the other books you mentioned but they look good, especially A Monster Calls! Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

