30 Day Book Challenge: Day 13

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 13: Your Favorite Author

I want you all to know that I really tried. I really tried to pick someone other than J.K. Rowling but in the end, she’s the one. Not only did she write THE most brilliant series the world has ever seen, but we’ve seen from The Casual Vacancy and The Cuckoo’s Calling that she can write in other areas and most importantly, WRITE IT WELL.

Let’s look at the Harry Potter series first, shall we?

J.K. Rowling has created a cultural phenomenon with her Harry Potter series and is more than likely the most successful living author today. Even if you don’t like fantasy you have to admit that these books are incredibly intricate. Her stories say so many things and are woven together like a puzzle piece so that connections are strung together every which way. Separately and as a whole, J.K. Rowling has created a masterpiece, plain and simple.

Now, let’s consider The Casual Vacancy.

Complete opposite of Harry Potter, The Casual Vacancy is steeped in reality; it is about the stark truth and bleak normality of the ordinary human life. This novel is not my favorite story by any means, but it is a GOOD story. Every single character was three-dimensional and well fleshed out. They all acted according to their development and circumstances. The story was believable and like Harry Potter had many things to say about the human condition. J.K. Rowling shows that she can go from fantasy to social drama in the blink of an eye like it’s easy peasy. That’s talent.

Finally, but not least, The Cuckoo’s Calling.

…Okay, so I haven’t actually read this one yet, but give me a break! I’m a broke college student that has an expensive hobby, I can’t buy every book I want– no matter how much I want it…oh and I want it. I included it however because I have heard that J.K. Rowling pulls off another great novel with real characters and a compelling story. Since it’s J.K Rowling, I can believe it.

Whether you like or not, you got to have some respect for her. She has shaped children’s fiction today and is proving that her talented is not limited to any one area. The woman is a genius and thusly, my favorite author.

Who is your favorite author? Do you have more than one? Share it below and happy reading!

15 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 13

  1. I love Harry Potter and I can easily see how good ole JK is your choice for fave author! I haven’t read The Casual Vacancy or The Cuckoo’s Calling yet… I don’t know if I want to. I’m not sure if that’s awful and narrow-minded of me (probably) but I don’t want to exist in any other world of hers except for Harry’s. Well, at least for now 🙂
    Great choice!

  2. I think Rowling definitely has the gift of making her characters come alive. After I finish her books, I still remember her characters. It’s like they’re real people. That’s why I felt overwhelmed with The Casual Vacancy because there were just too many. But, when she chooses to focus on one or two, that’s when I feel she does the best work! Anyway, if you ever want to read The Cuckoo’s Calling and have an e-book reader, I can lend it to you! 🙂

    • It did get a bit muddled with The Casual Vacany but the parts that just just centered around a character were really great. Thats so nice! I actually don’t have an e-reader yet (I’m saving money in the good old piggy bank for one), but when I get one I’ll take you up on that offer. Thank you so much! 🙂

  3. I don’t actually have a favourite author as my taste in books changes with my mood. I love Gail Carriger for when I need a happy read as her writing is super quirky and makes me giggle. I also love Jean M. Auel, Ursula Le Guin and Alexander McCall Smith. There are so many others that I’d be hard-pressed to pick just one!

      • Gail Carriger has a steampunk series which is very whimsical and just plain fun, Jean M. Auel has written historical fiction books which take place in prehistoric times (check out Clan of the Cave Bear), Ursula Le Guin writes fantasy and science fiction and a bit of historical fiction (I thought that Lavinia was gorgeous) and Alexander McCall Smith wrote the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series which is lovely. As always, if you check any of them out please let me know. I’d love to know what you think about them. 🙂

      • They all sound amazing! I’m going to do some hunting on Goodreads tonight to sort through them. I especially like the sound of Clan of the Cave Bear. Thanks for the recommendations! 🙂

  4. I read one of the early HP around 2002 and the Half Blood Prince upon its release and remember enjoying them. However, I’m not sure I’d re-read them or the whole series any time soon (though I do feel slightly tempted to just to see what they’re like to a 25 year old.)

    It’s got to be said that my favourite authors are Simon Kernick who writes crime thrillers usually based in London where I live (which means I can read the book and think ‘Oh, I’ve been there!’) and Shaun Hutson who writes mostly gruesome horror/thriller novels (‘Slugs’ is probably the most disgusting book I’ve read and very much like James Herbert’s ‘Rats.’)

    Sadly, Shaun Hutson’s books are really hard to find and can only really be bought in second hand bookshops and Amazon, but I’m slowly managing to find them all (to the point of keeping a list of the books I own in my wallet just in case I come across one I don’t have yet.)

    • I’ve been looking for some crime fiction every since I read the Millenium series by Stieg Larsson, so maybe I’ll check out Simon Kernick. (I also love it when I can say “I’ve been there”, it’s like you have a personal connection to the story).

      That is sad that Shaun Hutson’s books are hard to find but it sounds like you’re going to have one cool collection pretty soon. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  5. I have only ever read the Harry Potter series. The Casual Vacancy never gave me the “Ah. Must. Read. Now!” feeling because it’s about politics in a small town which is something that doesn’t sound interesting, to me at least. I really want to read The Cuckoo’s Calling. I will get around to that. Eventually. At some point.

  6. J.K. is the best!

    I really need to get reading The Casual Vacancy so that I can then get reading the Cuckoo’s Calling, whoops! 😛

    The book list just keeps going on forever doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

