The First Book Store Trip

thToday’s the day.

You leap out of bed giggling from happiness. You rush to the kitchen because your mom says breakfast is the most important meal of the day though you really believe that slot belongs to snack time. You get your “special” bowl that is shaped like the head of Minnie Mouse and fix yourself some cereal, all while wishing chocolate pudding was an acceptable breakfast item.

Then your mother walks in already dressed for the day which only makes you more excited.

“Today’s the day!” you tell her except it sounds more like “Trdaeschda!” because you still had cereal in your mouth.

Your mom smiles and reminds you not to talk and eat at the same time and also to wipe your chin.

You finish your cereal in record time and run down the hall to get dressed. You picked out your outfit last night so that no time would wasted today. When you’re all dressed and ready to go you and your mom head out the door.

You can’t help but bounce in your seat as your mother drives. You’re entire focus is set on what it’s going to be like; what will it look like; what will it smell like; will everyone be able to tell it’s your first time? Then– doubt hits you. What if it isn’t everything you imagined it would be? It could be too small, or too crowded or filled with a bad smell– no, you think as your mom pulls into the parking lot and you gaze at the entrance, it’s going to be perfect.

“That’s the book store mom?”

“Mhmm, what do you think?”

I look at it again, “Wow.” I answer, because nothing else justifies the monumental building in front of me. You take your mom’s hand as you walk through the glass doors because though most of what you feel is excitement there’s still a small part that is afraid of being let down.

Then you see what’s on the other side of those glass doors and you’re filled with awe. Everywhere you look books welcome you. There are giant bookshelves that shape the landscape and tables scattered every few feet and best of all they’re all filled with books. You let go of your mom’s hand now that all doubt has been vanquished.

You wander down the first aisle trying to see everything but overwhelmed by all the colors. And what’s the smell in the air, is that coffee beans? You look around in bewilderment and finally your eyes match the source. There’s a coffee shop in the book store! You don’t drink coffee yet, but the smell instantly makes you think of Sunday mornings when you’re bed head ridden father puts on a batch and sinks into the sofa to turn on football. The smell makes you feel welcome, makes you feel home.

You walk down to your favorite genre of books. You let your fingers trail the spines and spend a few minutes basking in the presence of wonderful stories. Another person walks to your area. They gaze at the book shelves and you can tell just from their eyes that this is a person who loves books as much as you do.

The pair of you are instant friends and soon you’re sitting on the squishy carpet in front of your favorite books sharing what you like about them. (She’s team Jacob but you forgive her). A few hours go by like this when you’re mom gives the signal that it’s time to leave. A wrinkle appears between your brows and you let out an over-the-top sigh. This is almost as bad as leaving Disneyland, you say to yourself, almost.

“Bye” you say to your friend. She smiles and waves and goes back to reading her books and you realized you’ve never been more jealous of a person before that moment.

You place your picks on the check out counter as your mom pulls out her credit card with an amused face that just sets the wrinkle between your brows deeper. You try to smile back at the book store clerk but it’s hard when you’re so sad.

You go out the same glass doors and you can’t help but think of how just a few hours ago you didn’t know what the inside of a book store looked like and you take your mother’s hand.

“Did you like it?” She asks.

You look up at her, “Loved it.”

Though my first book store trip wasn’t quite like that (it involved me throwing a fit) it was still just as magical, as I’m sure it is for everybody that wears an official bookworm badge.

What was your first book store visit like? Share it below and happy reading!

This post has been added to Oh, Chrys and The Fiction Conniption‘s Let Discuss! meme. Check out other discussions that have been linked up this week here.

12 thoughts on “The First Book Store Trip

  1. Very interesting. I don’t remember my first bookstore visit though. I imagine I was still really small then. My parents usually left us at bookstores when they want to go shopping or something, and we’d just read until they got back.

  2. This is awesome, you can feel your excitement for books flowing out of your fingertips onto the keyboard! I have no idea when my first book shop trip was, but I do remember the book fairs that used to come to my primary school, and I would always come away with a least two books, I loved those days. 🙂

  3. Awww Lindsey, this is such a touching blog. I love the way you can paint a picture – not only with the sights and the smells but with the realistic sound of “Trdaeschda!” 😀 Book stores were a really special treat as a kid because they only existed in the mall back then and we didn’t go there much, but I relished the many days my mom took me to the library. In retrospect, the library can be kind of intimidating to a kid – the quiet stillness, the scent of old books, often a weary old librarian pushing a cart around and giving the kid the hairy eyeball (well, that’s what happened to me). But going to a book store is much more vivacious and exciting. Everything is fresh (including that welcoming scent of coffee beans!) and you can jabber to friends as much as you like, not to mention, you get to keep the books you buy 😀 I loved this blog, great scene that sparked a ton of memories!

    • Thank you, that means a lot to me!

      I totally agree about libraries being a lot less welcoming. I’ve never ever had a library card, is that crazy? I just don’t like going to the library, it always seems dark and way too quiet and I feel like a fictional villian is going to come kill me. 😉

      Book stores are the best, right up there next to Disneyland. I’m glad you enjoyed it and as always, thank you for reading!

  4. I’m fairly certain I can’t remember far enough back to remember my first bookstore visit. I remember I loved it — I even vaguely remember that the bookstore in the town I lived in before we moved (I was 4 when we moved) had a kids section that had a huge carpeted seating area that had those tiered levels like gigantic steps that served as seats. I suspect they used it for story-time or something, though I don’t remember ever seeing it used by staff. One of my earliest memories of a bookstore is playing on those steps while parents read to kids, and of my dad sitting down with me and reading one of those books that came with a stuffed animal that were all the rage for a while. I distinctly remember one about a bat and one about a frog. But I don’t remember ever not knowing what to expect when we went inside—I’ve apparently loved bookstores my whole life 🙂

    Wonderful post!

    • Awww that’s such a great movie, I loved the part of your dad reading to you one of those books that came with stuffed animals! 🙂 Thanks so much for reading, I’m glad I found a fellow book store lover!

  5. Yay! I can’t remember my first bookstore visit. One thing I’m sure though, I am so intimidated by bookstores when I was younger, around 10-12 years old. I only started going to bookstores when I got addicted with HP. And ever since that day, bookstores are my favorite hangout. ❤

    Whenever I went home, I always make a detour to a bookstore just to check on things. It's lucky that our office is near a mall so I have my daily fix of bookstores. 😀

    Thoughts and Pens

Leave a Reply

