30 Day Book Challenge: Day 12

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 12: A Book You Used to Love But Don’t Anymore

This is such a sad challenge today, I hate the thought of any of my books feeling like I don’t love them. Sadly though I do have a book that fits this category, and it’s a book everyone knows.

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

I’m the first to admit that I went through a total craze, MANY PEOPLE DID. I loved the story for what it was, did I think it was a piece of literature? Heck, no! What Stephanie Meyer did was give the reader that feeling of first love, is it the best love story ever? Not even close, but it did make the reader feel what Bella felt. As least it did for me.

I used to go about my daily life looking for Edward, hoping that he would be waiting for me in some corner. I tried to convince my family to move to Forks, WA even going so far as to provide a list of bullet points. I loved Stephanie Meyer’s world and I wanted to be apart of it.

So what ruined it for me?

I think it was a mixture of the movies and the hate that was thrown at the books. I was severely disappointed with the movies believing that it didn’t capture the essence of the books at all. Then it became cool to hate Twilight and it was torn apart bit by bit. People started breaking down the characters and their development. Started spouting how Bella is an unfit role model for girls (Newsflash: we already knew that, nobody is rushing off a cliff anytime soon). And the thing I heard the most of was mockery of how vampires sparkle in the sunlight. Can people grow up please?

I kept hearing all this over and over again and it ruined the story for me. Impossible some of you might say, well I used to say that too. But I recently picked up the series to read and the same feeling I used to have wasn’t there. I just kept saying “Why couldn’t you be a better role model Bella?” or “Why couldn’t you have elevated your writing Stephanie Meyer” and “Why do you have to sparkle in the sun Edward?”

I couldn’t get past all the criticism and now I won’t ever read Twilight the same way. I hate when people are snobs about books. DON’T EVER FEEL GUILTY ABOUT WHAT YOU READ! EVER! When it comes down to it, YOU read for YOU, so what does it matter what other people think?

 

Now I’m sad. You know what would make me feel better? If you shared what book you used to love and don’t anymore. Happy reading everybody!

24 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 12

  1. Awww I feel so bad that something you loved got ruined by other people’s opinions 😦 Personally I haven’t read Twilight because I thought I’d hate it but there’s a lot of books that fall into that category!

    A book I loved but then hated was The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards. The first time I read it, it really spoke to me, it felt like reading about my own life to a certain extent (in a very abstract way, as far as I know I don’t have a secret twin sister out there in the world). But the second time I found all the characters shallow and annoying and the plot to be empty and tedious. I think it was mostly due to changes in my life – it was a few years later and I guess I’d moved on so it didn’t mean as much to me anymore. It was a shock though and quite sad 😦

  2. I read all of these books in middle school and I really liked them at first. I mean, it wasn’t the GREATEST story ever, but it was decent. Maybe the writing wasn’t flawless, but who says that it has to be? I’ve never even seen the Twilight movies, but all of the hype around them and the actors and the negative light they were seen in really made me wish I hadn’t liked them at all in the first place. It’s good to know that I wasn’t the only one who felt like this!!!

    • Thank you for saying that, sometimes you feel like the only one because people are afraid to admit what they like and it’s a shame. Society today…[shakes my head]. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  3. I 100% agree, people ruined Twilight for me too! I mean I know it was kind of ruined to begin with, but I loved it. Once people started battering and picking it to smithereens I couldn’t get back the feeling it once used to give me… 

    ________________________________

  4. David Eddings has two series of books I used to read entirely every year when I was younger. The Belgariad and The Mallorean. I’ve read them again recently and realised that they aren’t actually that good. They were my introduction into fantasy so they have serious nostalgic value for me, but I don’t love them unconditionally anymore.

    This is a sad topic. Hopefully there’s a happier one tomorrow? 😀

      • Don’t let me discourage you. I still love them. I started reading them when I was 10 or so. All of my friends were reading kiddy chapter books and I felt so grown up. It’s just that I’m older now and my more discerning self sees them as being a bit formulaic and there’s a lot of influence from Tolkien in them. You should definitely read them if you think they look interesting because they are fun. I guess that 38 year old Buffy is harder to impress than 10 year old Buffy was. 😀

      • Haha! Growing as a reader is NEVER a bad thing, I tend to hold on to my childhood books like the Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket because I can’t bear to let them go. Now, do I actually enjoy reading them? Somewhat but definitely not like I used too. I appreciate the suggestion! 🙂

      • That makes me glad! Sometimes I worry if the challenge is annoying for others to read, but I love it because I’m having to think about myself as a reader that I never did before. 🙂

  5. Sorry that you fell out of love with Twilight, though you’re right that many others have too. I devoured the series when I was younger but grew out of it after reading many other wonderful works of YA romance. Still, I appreciate the book for drawing more attention to YA… whether it be good or bad attention…

    • Very true, Twilight did bring YA to a new level so I should be greatful for that and there’s plenty of really GREAT YA books that I love, it’s just sad to me when a book loses that special feeling you have for it. Thank you for reading! 🙂

  6. Love this! I was going to blog about the same book for day 12 too 🙂 I really agree with you though: the criticism and the crazy, explosive fandom ruined the books for me. I think on its own, the books are fine but with the movies, the publicity and the hate it got… something just got lost.

  7. Sorry, What ruined it for me ? part is really funny 🙂 , I have no such books that i might not Re-read since i enjoy reading a lot of them concerned with various subjects ! Movies made up after a novel sometimes turns out to be total flop (they miss the essence) ! For me twilight’s is a combination of “A Walk to remember ” and “Dracula”,as these things looks fine when they are apart but not at the same time and place ! Good luck with your 30 day challenge ! 🙂 ciao

    • I’m glad no books were ruined for you, it’s not something I wish on anybody. Thats actually a pretty good way to describe Twilight, like I said I didn’t think it was the best book I ever read, but it was a nice comfort read. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  8. Oh, guilty. Oh-so-guilty. I am guilty of all these things, I confess! I have made fun of Bella and Edward, wished for an Edward and chided myself for it afterward, even bonded with people I barely knew over how much we hated Meyers’s MarySue, self-inserting style of writing. “Why do you have to sparkle in the sun Edward?” A question we’ll wonder forever. I am think these blogs have been therapeutic for me, though. I’ve loosened up a lot over the past couple years and reading here how many people actually *enjoy* the books for what they are makes me more comfortable for enjoying it, too. The days of closet fandom are over! I am sorry it was ruined for you, though. I say we create a new challenge and dedicate it to Twilight therapy!!! Great post 🙂

    • I feel the same way about blogging. It’s really opened me up to a whole community of book lovers of whom many feel like I do. It’s refreshing!

      I like the sound of that Twilight therapy, I would love to be able to enjoy it the way I used too!

      Thanks for reading, I appreciate it! 🙂

  9. Pingback: DAY 24 Book You’re Most Embarrassed to Say You Like/Liked. | Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

