Judging a Book by it’s Cover Intervention

thNow that your all settled in on the couch I want to bring up an issue. No, don’t get frightened, we are not attacking you. We are confronting you about…well about your problem. Yes, I think it’s time to own up to it, you’ve been judging books by their covers again.

Don’t. Don’t try to deny it we have evidence. Denise saw you at the book store last week, that’s right she was there. Did you think we would leave you alone while you’re going through this? The clerk at the book store recommended a book to you didn’t he? What did you do? To get through this you are going to have to come out of denial, now what did you do? You said “no thanks” to the book store clerk didn’t you? You didn’t want that book based off its cover. You can’t keep living you’re life like this. It’s not fair to you and it’s not fair to the books.

Still admitting you don’t have a problem? What about Tuesday evening? You and Jared were at the library, ring any bells? Jared said he saw you pick five books without even a glance at the synopsis. What made you decide to check out those books? You judged them by their covers didn’t you? And how did that work out, were they quality reads? I didn’t think so. Listen, the first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem; so go on. There you go, you see, already I can see a difference.

Now that you’ve admitted your problem lets share some success stories to help motivate you. Remember, we’ve all been here, it happens. Sometimes you only have enough money for one book and you see the book you’ve been meaning to get when another one catches your eye. The cover calls to you, works it spell over you and before you know it you’ve bought the book without even reading what it’s about. It happens to the best of us, these ‘black outs’ are common, you just have to pick yourself up and start again another day.

Look at Paul. Six months ago he was in the same spot as you; buying books left and right based solely on their covers (which oddly enough all featured parakeets), but here he sits today. Six months of not once judging a book by its cover.

Then there’s Mary. Poor Mary was worst off than you. She had bookshelves filled with books she bought because of pretty covers but never read because they weren’t quality books. After she purchased Marked we knew that we had to intervene. She struggled at first, that’s perfectly normal but the important thing is that she made the effort. She got rid of all her books and filled her bookshelves with books she would actually read. She started looking beyond the cover.

You can even take me as an example. I started off just like you but now I’m three years clean. It’s been a long time since I judged a book by its cover. (I think the last time was Prince Caspian which sent me over the edge). You can be where I am today, no don’t shake your head, you can. You have to visualize it, believe it and above all want it. Think of all the quality books that wait for you? Don’t you want to enjoy reading again? Good, now lets start with a trip to the book store, no don’t worry, I’m coming with you. We’ll only look at the backs of the books. Bring it in, all hands in everybody, now together on three: SEEING PAST THE COVER!

The subject of this intervention is now three weeks clean. They thank everybody for caring enough of about them to help.

Paul now spends all his money buying parakeets.

Mary is now happily surrounded by the books she loves but can’t find her glasses to read them.

The leader of this intervention fell off the wagon two days ago. We are doing all we can for her.

I don’t know about you but I’m definitely guilty of judging a book by its cover every now and then and sometimes it’s a good thing and sometimes it’s a bad thing. Do you ever judge a book by its cover or do you make it a rule not too? Share it below and happy reading!

This post has been added to Oh, Chrys and The Fiction Conniption‘s Let Discuss! meme. Check out other discussions that have been linked up this week here.

20 thoughts on “Judging a Book by it’s Cover Intervention

  1. Ha! Absolutely LOVE this post and the way you set it up! It was hilarious. 🙂

    I am totally guilty of judging books by their covers, I have fallen for it far to often so I’m trying to be a lot more cautious these days. There were a few with beautiful cover that I fell for which turned out to be terrible books and I was hugely disappointed, Fallen by Lauren Kate, Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick and The Hollow by Jessica Verday included. Although I always look at the blurb before buying a book, if the cover is pretty I’m much more likely to give it a go even if the blurb seems a bit iffy!

  2. I’ve picked up a lot of books because of the cover, and stuck with it because of the synopsis. I’ve been trying to push past it though because a lot of great books in the sci-fi/fantasy section have some awful covers, but I end up loving the book anyway! I do love a pretty cover, though… They just look so colorful on my bookshelves!

    • They do indeed make a for a pretty book shelf! I’ve noticed the same thing with sci-fi/fantasy novels, for some reason they don’t put in as much appeal on those type of covers. Thanks for reading!

  3. LOL, great introduction to this post!
    But yes, my name is Lauren, and I HAVE A PROBLEM! I, too, am guilty of this very thing! I am a sucker for a good cover. It’s like I go into Gollum mode and stroke the spine, “my preciousssss”, every time I see something pretty that someone in a publishing house cooked up. To be fair, it’s not easy designing good book covers, and as with all marketing, if they can snag you with your eyes, they’ve got you hooked! (back to Twilight – again – whoever designed the FIRST Twilight cover, hands holding apple, with font, should be raking in loads of money because that cover design was brilliant! I have no idea what the heck the frayed ribbon on Eclipse is supposed to mean, though).
    Still, some of my very favorite books have lackluster covers, and that certainly doesn’t make them any less wonderful!
    I love this post! 😀

    • Oh believe me, everytime I come out of the book store I come out with a book that hooked me with its cover. Everytime. And agreed, it is hard to design a book cover so finding one that appeals to you is rare and sometimes it turns out well. There’s been plenty of books in which I thought the cover looked pretty so I gave it a try and it was a great book.
      I just think of the really good books out there that get overlooked because their covers are not pretty and it makes me sad, so I try to look beyond the cover. (I don’t always succeed).
      P.S.– What was the deal with the ribbon on the cover of Eclipse? It was the only one that didn’t make any sense. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  4. That was a brilliant post and made me feel very guilty! It’s just some of the covers are so evocative that I HAVE to read them even if they turn out to be total rubbish. And then often a book with an uninspiring cover turns out to be a real gem. Yet do I learn? No 😦 I do go off titles as well though, If you can come up with a good title I’m just as likely to buy it.

    • I’m guilty too, thats why I wrote the post, I thought I could make myself realize my problem. It’s just so hard when you’re standing there looking at all the books and the covers are just calling to you…its overwhelming! (I’m guilty of judging by titles too)! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  5. Totally guilty as charged! I am embarrassed to openly admit I judge EVERY single book I read by its cover. This is not something to be proud of. Recently, I scoffed at a book called The Crown Towers because its cover was lacking. Then, I started reading and whoa – I was hooked. I found out there is an entire series. If I hadn’t just started reading I would have missed out on something magical. Lesson learned. I’m still not sure if I am cured. I guess if I wrote a book I’d spend the extra money to find the perfect cover!

  6. So true! Books are like people. Don’t judge a person by their appearance unless you know their story you know? I’ll admit, I can’t help but buy the book if the cover is super pretty. Ugh. It’s cause I don’t read the synopsis so I go by the genre, book cover, and recommendations. Great post! I think most of us are guilty hehe.

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

  7. What an original way to write this post Lindsey…sure made me giggle 🙂 I too am guilty of judging a book by its cover. If I don’t like a cover I won’t even entertain reading it unless it’s been recommended to me. That’s terrible isn’t it? I know it is 😦 **hangs head in shame** I just can’t help myself though. I think its very hard to not pass judgement on a book cover since it’s the first thing you see on the shelf. Sometimes I choose to read a book based solely on the cover, I did this recently with Whistling Past the Graveyard by Susan Crandall and I absolutely loved the book so it was a good decision on my part.

    • Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 That’s not terrible at all, I’ve been known to do that MANY of times, it’s normal I think. Those wicked publishers know how to entice the bookworm with a pretty covers so it’s very easy to fall into their trap. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  8. Love this post! Especially the bit about the parakeets …

    I’ve been falling into that trap a lot more lately. Been trying to break the habit. Though, I will definitely say it’s not my most frequent of problems. Normally anymore I judge a book almost solely on its title. I see a catchy title with a subject I like, and I’m caught in the trap. The most recent cases of this are books I still haven’t read: Demon King, Blood Song, Soulbound … (Notice a pattern here?). To be fair to that though, some of my favorite authors have been found that way with titles such as One Foot in the Grave, The Devil You Know, Kitty and the Midnight Hour, and Claimed by Shadow (yes, I know they’re not all the first in the series … I didn’t even realize it with Karen Chance, but I figured it out for the others).

    If I go to the library for a book, I will browse the YA section and intentionally choose by the cover, though, at least in part—They display at least one book on every shelf, making it hard not to (and then I at least don’t spend money on something I might end up not liking)

    • Oh I’m definitely guilty of judging by a title also although I feel its better to judge by this than a cover since the cover can be incredibly misleading while generally a title should hold the essence of a book. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  9. Hahahaah! This post is sooo cool! Thank goodness. I am not qualified to be enrolled in your intervention program. I don’t judge a book by its cover. My first criteria about book selection is: “Ma’am saleslady, is this book your bestseller? Can you give me an estimate number of customers who bought this book?” Or “I’ll buy it once I’ve read the review on GR.” so yehey to me!

    Better round up all those guilty people!

    Thoughts and Pens

Leave a Reply

