30 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 6

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 6: A Book That Broke Your Heart

It’s a book that I read only last year. I had yet to see its movie companion so was unaware of the tragic ending. Maybe you’ve heard of it?

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneger

SPOILER ALERT

I’m sorry but I can’t describe how the novel was heartbreaking without spoiling the end. First let me say, it’s a beautiful piece of literature. Niffeneger’s writing is masterfully written and even more so considering that she weaves a tale of time traveling which is a concept that can get messy quickly.

In case you don’t already know its a novel that follows Henry DeTamble who has the ability to time travel. Except it’s not so much an ability as annoyance as he can’t control it. He literally will be going about his daily life and just zap somewhere in time either in the past or the future. He hates every part about it except for the fact that it brought into his life the greatest thing that ever happened to him; Claire Abshire.

Claire meets Henry for the first time when she is a little girl and they quickly become friends. She grows up with these mysterious trips from the funny man and soon falls in love with him. But a relationship isn’t simple when time travel is involved.

They go through ups and downs as in every typical romance, but the thing that makes this novel so special is Niffeneger’s writing. She fleshes out these characters so beautifully so that it feels as if they were your friends that you’ve known forever. You become apart of the story as you see it play out before you, invested in a way that never happens with other novels.

THIS IS WHERE THE SPOILER IS (ALTHOUGH YOU CAN PROBABLY ALREADY GUESS WHAT HAPPENS)

One day, Henry gets suddenly zapped into the past right into the path of a gunshot and dies. I just– I couldn’t handle the actual physical pain I felt for Claire. They were in a kind of love that was so rare and true. They were meant for each other as time proved again and again and it was so unfair that he died. It was so unfair that Claire couldn’t grow old with him. It was so unfair they couldn’t get happy ending while many less deserving characters do so.

It’s a heart breaking and tragic novel, but also a beautiful piece of literature and I would read it again.

What novel broke your heart (considering you’re not the grinch)? Share it below and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “30 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 6

  1. One of the books that broke my heart was The Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. It’s one of my absolute favorite books ever, and every time I read it so many emotions well up inside me that don’t normally surface when I read other books…. I highly recommend it! Great post!

Leave a Reply

