30 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 5

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 5: A Book That Makes You Happy

There are many books that make me happy, that’s why I’m a bookworm! 🙂 However there is a certain book that always makes me smile with the memory that it brings. This book was read when I was in my fantasy haze and made me long for the ability to read myself into books. You may be able to guess now.

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke.

I haven’t read this novel in a while, but am planning to reread it soon to discover if it lives up to the standard that I hold it. It was the first time that I envied a protagonist, in this Meggie and her ability to read herself into novels at the price of something from the book coming into the real world.

Some might say it seems like any other typical fantasy novel so why is this one so special? The reason it makes me happy is not so much the novel itself but the memory of reading it for the first time. Let’s hop in my oh so handy-dandy time machine so we can look back at the memory.

It was sixth grade. I was blonde then, and also awkward. (Okay, I’m still kind of awkward now). I was sitting next to a boy who had this magical looking book in his desk. I had never gotten a close look at it, but I knew that something about it appealed to me. I planned many desperate attempts to sneak the book out of the boy’s desk when one day he caught me looking and simply offered to let me read it. That day I learned that I over think many things, but I’m digressing, on to the memory.

With the book actually in my hands I was almost scared to open it, fearing that the magic I felt would disappear with the turn of the cover but I knew I had to read it. I had to devour it. This was not a book that could simply be read a little each night before bed. No, I needed a couple of solid days of JUST READING. The book demanded it.

There was a problem with this demand as it was a Tuesday, and being in sixth grade I was required to go to school (by law). Well that simply wouldn’t do, I thought. It wouldn’t do at all.

Wednesday morning I wake up earlier than usual and rush to the bathroom. I wait until I hear my mom go to the kitchen and then come out looking horrible. Squinting, moaning, and limping basically imagining a zombie with super bad sun glare.

“What’s wrong?” my mom said.

I said the one thing that I could get by on without any proof. “I have a HUGE headache. It’s just pounding and it kept me up last night.”

“Maybe you should just stay home.” Could it be that easy?

“Okay. I am really tired. Can I have some headache medicine?”

“Sure.” It could!

Three hours later I was in my bed, sunlight streaming in through my window and Inkheart in my hands. I read the whole thing in two glorious days.

Looking back at this now, I realize that my mom knew the whole time why I wanted to stay home. And she understood.

I don’t think that it’s the sneakiness that makes me happy, it’s the fact that Inkheart was the first book in which I spent all day reading. It was literally just a day spent in my cupcake pajamas, under the covers with a book in hand. It’s a happy memory and if someone ever mentions Inkheart I can’t help but smile.

What book makes you happy? Share it below and happy reading!

 

6 thoughts on “30 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 5

  1. I adored Inkheart, but I came to the series too late, I think. I couldn’t get into the rest of the series because I felt like an old fart reading young books :/ Maybe I’ll trick my future children into reading them so they can tell me how the story ends…

  2. Ohh wow this is such a cute story, I love it! I’ve got those whole Inkheart series on my shelf, I got it for Christmas one or two years ago and can’t wait to dive in now! I love when a book has a ton of nostalgia or memory attached to it, it makes it all the more special!

Leave a Reply

