30 Day Book Challenge: Day 4

picsart_1375358545585Good evening fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 4: The Worst Film Adaptation of a Book

Hmmmm…the worst…the worst…there are many to choose from unfortunately. I’m going to go with one that I had my hopes set high for which were then crushed into little tiny pieces (it was a sad day).

Eragon.

The BOOK Eragon is an amazing fantasy novel full of sword fighting and flying dragons. It was the first high fantasy novel I ever read, so it always held a special place for me. When I heard that it was becoming a movie I was nothing but excited. I was taking the Harry Potter adaptations into consideration, which in my opinion were brilliant, so I expected epic greatness to take place on the big screen.

I walked out of the theater in a full rage.

Though they didn’t deviate from the basis of the story the parts they did stray from corrupted it, for example the witch Angela. They reduced Angela to a young girl in a 30 second scene, when Angela is a woman and does a great deal for Eragon. Plus, she is a vital part in the other books so I don’t know how ‘the movie people’ thought they could continue the series into films.

I guess even this I could have lived through (though not happily) if it weren’t for the bad acting. I hate to say it because I’m an actor myself but let’s face it, Eragon was awful. Some of the better side characters tried to save it but the whole story is about Eragon and his dragon Seraphina, if Eragon is awful then it’s going to stink up the rest of the film.

Now I just don’t set my hopes high because then I’m not disappointed if the film adaptation turns out bad but delightfully surprised if it turns out good. It still makes me sad to this day though when I think of how great Eragon would have been on film. Great, now I’m sad.

What do you consider to be the worst film adaptation? Did you turn green and big and then scream, “THIS MOVIE BAD”? Yeah, me neither. Comment below, I’d love to hear your thoughts and happy reading!

17 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 4

  1. I would have to agree with you. This film was shockingly bad. I seem to remember the part where Jeremy Irons lay mortally wounded but then he shows up miles away to save the day. Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat??? My disbelief refused to be suspended that far.

  2. Although I love Eragon and the other three books in Paolini’s series, I have never actually seen the movie. But I’m not surprised that it wasn’t that great, because the book has so many tiny details in it that a movie just can’t capture, no matter how hard producers try.

  3. OMG! I TOTALLY AGREE with you! I hadn’t even heard about the book Eragon until I saw a teaser poster for the movie. And, well, I LOVE dragons. So I borrowed a copy from my library and plowed through the story. I loved it! I borrowed the next book in the series and breezed through that one as well. I was SO stoked for the movie. And then…ugh! I suppose the first thing that irked me was that the voice of Saphira is totally not what I had imagined. It just went downhill from there. I think it would have been better had they split it up into two movies. There’s too much going on that’s important for them to skim over (like they did with Angela’s character).
    I look forward to following you through your 30-day challenge 🙂

    • Splitting it up would have been brilliant! There was just too many details to try to fit into a two and half hour Hollywood package. I’m glad you enjoyed the books as well, but it makes it all the more sad that it didn’t do well on film, doesn’t it? I’m glad you agree with me and thanks for reading! 🙂

  4. Omg this could have almost been written by me! Funnily enough I’m also planning to write about this adaptation for the same question on the challenge, LOL. Could not agree with you more, the film was dismal, I hated most of the main characters they cast, Eragon the most.

  5. I’d have to agree with you. I read that entire series so when I heard the movie was coming out, I dragged my boyfriend with me to go see it. And I was shocked at just how horrible it was! Bleh! I mean, it had SUCH potential! I almost feel like if they would’ve waited a couple years, maybe until now when these adaptations all over the place, they could’ve done it right with more money, better actors, more care, etc. At the time they just seemed to throw it all together and throw it at us and ew… No thanks ><

    • I totally agree with you! If they had waited to see how the series further developed than maybe they would have had an idea of how much time and money to put into the series, but instead it seemed like they were in big rush to throw it on the big screen. A huge disappointment.

  6. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 4- The Worst Film Adaptation of a Book | Shelf-Made Girl

  7. It was a sad WEEK when I saw that movie. So I was totally that girl who had the entire prologue memorized (The whole “Wind howled through the night, carrying a scent that would change the world” thing—I can still get about 1/4 of the way through it before I screw up, mostly because my mind can be a steel trap at the strangest of times…).

    Anyway, we got a whole group of my friends together to go watch it after school on the day it premiered, but only 3 or 4 of us had actually read it. When the movie ended, those of us who were die-hard fans walked out of the theater in fuming silence while the folks who hadn’t read the book were smiling and commenting on how the movie was better than they expected. And the moment we stepped out of theater the rest of us exploded into everything that was wrong with it. This pattern continued for the rest of the week in our mutually-had classes. Eventually it turned into a really gigantic inside joke …

    There have been some other movie adaptations that I haven’t liked all that much, but Eragon was by far the most infuriating. It also taught me a very real lesson, and sometimes I will avoid watching the movie until I hear from people who have read the books first whether it was good or not.

    (BTW – seriously, my cat’s been ignoring me all day and within about fifteen minutes of me being on your blog, he decided he need to come join me, and he’s very much in the way of me writing comments …)

    • Thank you! I mean, it was almost offensive by how bad it was and what really sucks is this series had SO much potential. I guess we have to learn the hard way sometimes…

      Awww, I’m so glad your cat seems to enjoy my blog, say hi to him for me please! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Harry Potter & Eragon | FanFiction Fridays

  9. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge (Day 4) | From Cover to Cover

Leave a Reply

