The Dream Library

439281ecec9a1db89130b308d5610f09This post was inspired by Sisterhood of the Books post on Top 5 Book Reading Locations (you should check it out)! When I read her post I started thinking about my dream library (of which, I vow will be a reality someday)!

I started picturing what my dream library looked like but I had so many ideas running through my head that I kept getting a garbled picture. So I decided to put it down on paper (and then later on WordPress) to make the picture clear. Here’s what I came up with:

First of all, SIZE!

76fb53e05672cafd88e83bcfafdfd7af

 

Books seem to multiply by the dozens! I already have too many books to fill my bookshelf and yet when I go to the book store to buy one book I notoriously walk out with three. (They literally jump into my hands)! So I need a library that will be big enough that I won’t come across the problem of running out of book space (at least, not for a while). Concurrently, big space has been added to the check list.

 

 

 

Second Must-Have: BIG WINDOWS

439281ecec9a1db89130b308d5610f09I’m a huge fan of natural light so windows are a MUST! Even better, floor to ceiling windows with long drapes so I can do that whole moment in Beauty and the Beast where the Beast yanks back the drapes to reveal Belle’s dream library! (Lets face it ladies– we all would have said yes to the beast if it meant getting that library)!

 

 

Third Must-Have: WARMTH

f32d85dd0c0cb8631ce56d3566b1f58b

 

I want a cozy library as it’s simply no fun reading when you’re shivering. When you’re wrapped in a blanket cocoon with your toes right by the fire, its paradise! So, I need a fireplace (the bigger, the better) and a cabinet dedicated to holding soft, fuzzy blankets (preferably purple). Doesn’t it sound nice?

 

 

 

 

 

Fourth Must-Have: TWIRLING STAIRS

7c54850294ea36df3d909939a32be3dd

 

 

 

Twirling stairs always add a magical element as if an old secret awaits you at the top of the staircase. Therefore, I must have stairs. The twirling kind.

 

 

 

 

 

Fifth Must-Have: COMFORT

130caafda98149cbe0943afc581f1708

 

How long can you read at a desk with a wooden chair until your back starts aching? Well, it’s not long for me therefore all desks and wooden chairs (without any padding) are hereby banished from my dream library. Couches, soft arm chairs, recliners and cushions shall decorate my dream library and nothing else!

 

 

 

 

Sixth Must-Have: SECRET PASSAGE WAY

b94d717e14c9428ce0c1437ecfbba2da

 

 

Because who ever heard of a decent library without a secret passage way?

 

 

 

 

 

Lets go over the six requirements of my dream library, shall we:

  • BIG SPACE
  • BIG WINDOWS
  • WARMTH
  • TWIRLING STAIRS
  • COMFORT
  • SECRET PASSAGE WAY

That’s not too much to ask for, is it? Of course there are other requirements that can’t quite be captured with pictures. Roasted coffee beans and old book smell would perfume the air, the ceiling would be painted of a starry night sky, my library would be sorted into sections dictated by genres. Therefore, different themes would decorate my library a fantasy theme, historical theme, science fiction theme and you get the picture. And lastly (but not least) a mini-fridge for all reading snacks (very important)!

What does your dream library look like? What does it smell like? Does it have a mini-fridge? (It really should). Share with me and have a wonderful day!

This post has been added to Oh, Chrys and The Fiction Conniption‘s Let Discuss! meme. Check out other discussions that have been linked up this week here.

42 thoughts on “The Dream Library

  1. I love the beauty and the beast library!!!! I would love a library that feels old, love the smell and comfort of all books its like they hold a bunch of memories in the folds of their binds. Great post.

    • I’m already jealous that you even have a library, that must be so nice! I just have a book shelf and man made piles of books through out my room; hence the day dreaming of libraries. Thank you for reading! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Dream Library | jillwrites

  3. Oh my gosh, this is my dream library! Definite yes to the spiral staircase. I’ve ALWAYS wanted one, even if not for a library. And the secret passage way? YES! Of course, I’m not sure where I’d want mine to go… to a second library? Haha. Alright. So um… just let me get a bunch of money together, and then I’m hiring you to design my library for me. Thanks! 😉

    • Haha I’m glad you like it! (I really think it’s the mini fridge that adds the finishing touch)! Oh and I also take payment in the form of books and candy 😉 Thanks for reading!

  4. Please excuse me while I wipe the drool from my face!

    I love the pics of the libraries above and your added description of the smell of coffee beans and leather from old-school bound books…and brilliant call on the mini-fridge of snacks! 🙂

  5. Ahhh, oh how I long to design a library of my own one day! And it would include features exactly how you want. I wonder how rich I’d have to be to build my own paradise…

  6. Nice! I like how your dream library is a mix between grandiose and comfort. It’s definitely a book lovers dream! Realistically, I’d love to have a secret passage way that leads a cozy little reading nook. Nothing too big or fancy, just a space for me and my books 🙂

  7. A BIG BIG yes to:

    1. Size but minus the spiral staircase. I still want to read even when I’m on my 70s-80s as long as my eyesight doesn’t fail me. And staircases would prolly hinder my roaming around the whole library.

    2. Big Windows- I prefer them to be from floor-to-ceiling and 2 blocks wide. Flanking the window should be a comfy couch where I can lie and bask under the streaming sunlight.

    3. Comfort- See number 2.

    4. Warmth- Cozy, homey and rustic.

    5. Secret Passageway- Where I can contain my powerful relics or use as my perfect getaway.

    And because you did not include the following, I guess I need to add them.

    6. Mini pantry- Complete with water dispenser, fridge, boxes to store noodles and milk and a heater.

    7. A computer cubicle- What about my endless of pile of epubs and kindles? They also need a niche too.

    8. Toilet- If you are reading the hardcore way then this is a must because you’ll sleep inside the library.

    9. Linen Storage- For pillows, blankets and other necessities needed for Hardcore reading.

    Thoughts and Pens

  8. I’d want a library like that too, only maybe without the warmth. I live in a warm place, so the reverse would be wanted for a library!

    I’d also want my bookshelves to have a glass cover or something, so they won’t be as affected by the elements as much. Less dust, less aging. I’d want that.

  9. I’d love to have a huge bookcase meaning I wouldn’t have to get rid of each book after I’ve read it but right now I just don’t have the space 😦 They also look really good with long lines of books of every genre.

    Definitely agree with the old book smell element. I used to work in a 2nd hand bookshop and still visit such places when I can and they have their own “special” smell which hits you as soon as you walk in.

    • I get what you mean about space. My ‘library’ right now consists of piles of books in the corner of my closet. Not even a book shelf, but that’s what happens when you don’t have money or space.

      I’ve never been to a 2nd hand bookshop (my town coudn’t even support Barnes and Noble) but I’ve always imagined it having that ‘special’ smell. How cool that you use to work in one, you’re one lucky duck!

  10. Pingback: Bookish Recap: August 4th – 10th | A Bookish Heart

Leave a Reply

