30 Day Book Challenge: Day 3

picsart_1375358545585Good morning fellow readers! So of course I found a new challenge to participate in the hopes of proving myself better than the last. I picked up this challenge from The Chronicles of Radiya and very much look forward to 30 consecutive (hopefully, gulp) days of blogging.

Day 3: Your favorite series

After looking at all the questions for this challenge I realized that for the majority of them, I could answer Harry Potter, but what fun would that be for you? So please know that while I’ll give you a variety of answers, Harry Potter will always ring true. Now on to the question!

My favorite series? That’s tough if I don’t look at the obvious choice (Harry Potter). There are many series that tug on my heart-strings and it really depends on what kind of mood I’m in; do I feel like flying dragons or battling clockwork figures? Do I feel like learning about WW2 or visiting a dinosaur theme park?

I guess, I will have to go with The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare as it is a series that I can pick up regularly (regardless if I’m in roaring 20’s kind of mood) and enjoy. Cassandra Clare’s story telling is much like J.K. Rowling, its full of twists and turns that keep you guessing. Her characters are utterly unique and keeping you cracking up throughout the novel; making them all the more relatable.

And I’m convinced my true love is Will Herondale (but I didn’t allow that to sway me, I promise 😉 )!

Do you have a favorite series? Shout it from the rooftops! Or, just share it below and happy reading!

 

18 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 3

  1. Ahhh, favorite series. Tough to answer as there are many that I like. Eragon for one. I am #4 et al. The Harry Potter series are also included. Stephen King had a series that I liked but I can’t recall the name. Had a group of wanderers is all I can remember at this time. Anyway, it’s a fine day to be alive and reading something, anything. All reading is knowledge in one shape or another.

    • I know I really love the Eragon series too but it’s not a fast read. And by any chance was that series by Stephen King the Dark Tower series? I plan to try it soon. And I couldn’t have put it better myself on all reading knowledge! Thanks for reading poppa! 🙂

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one with this problem. I’m doing another version of this challenge and realized I could easily use two or three of my favorite series for most of the answers. I’m challenging myself to keep repeats to a minimum. It makes it harder, but I think it’ll be more interesting.

  3. That’s great to hear about The Infernal Devices series. I’m getting ready to start that next! Raymond Feist’s Saga’s have always been on my go-to list. I’ve probably read The Riftwar Saga six times…and of course, Harry Potter.

    • Yay, I can’t wait to hear what you think about The Infernal Devices! Have you read The Mortal Instruments also by Cassandra Clare? I haven’t of Raymond Feist’s Saga or The Riftwar Saga, I’ll have to check them out!
      (And YAY for loving Harry Potter)! 🙂

  4. Hey Lindsey – thanks for liking my blog where I ranted about Dante, lol. I think this is a brilliant challenge and I may try it out myself! Likewise, I’d be hard-pressed to name a series fave-related qs. that isn’t Harry Potter. But speaking of HP and Cassandra Clare, do you know her from her fanfic’ing days when she went by Cassandra Claire? (I may be showing my age now…) She had a trilogy called Draco Dormiens which was FANTASTIC, honestly better than the real HP series if you want my honest opinion, but apparently it was taken down due to copyright problems with an original character she developed later in her original work. Either way, I have “City of Bones” but I haven’t started it yet – really must get around to it. Fun post!

    ~ L.

    • No problem (it was a great rant)! I hope you do try this challenge, it’s very fun. I look forward to seeing your posts! You know what, I’ve heard of Clare’s (or Claire) fan fiction days but sadly I didn’t get to read them in time before they were taken down. But you are not the only one that says they were brilliant and I find it easy to believe with her writing in The Mortal Instruments, so I truly am sad that I missed out. What was the story line? Can’t wait to hear what you think about City of Bones, thanks for reading! 🙂

      • Basically, from what I remember, it was a 3-part story more about Draco than anything. It starts in year 5 (OotP hadn’t been published at that time) and it begins in Potions class. Harry and Draco get partnered up for a Polyjuice potion experiment, but something goes wrong (of course) and they’re stuck with alternate identities. But Draco doesn’t want to give up being Harry for a while and no one knows that the Polyjuice potion hasn’t worn off, and some love triangle develops between Harry, Hermione, and Draco… It gets way more complicated after that (including Death Eater plots, neurotic Lucius Malfoy, drunk Hermione) – not to mention hilarious, her fiction makes me laugh out loud – but suffice to say I am disappointed it’s not online anymore 😦 And you’re welcome, I’m really enjoying your posts! Can’t wait to read more 🙂
        ~ L.

      • Ohmygosh! It sounds so good! Maybe she will be able to release it some day after all the Mortal Instruments are out. One can hope at least. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  5. I just got my copies of the Infernal Devices books!!! I haven’t had a chance to read them yet, but I have read the Mortal Instruments and I LOVE THEM! I honestly don’t know what took me so long to pick up her Infernal Devices series 🙂

    • I can’t wait to hear what you think about them! I love the Mortal Instruments too but I loved the Infernal Devices even more! (Can’t wait to hear what you think about Will Herondale) 😉

  6. I loved the “Kent Family Chronicles” and the Winds of War all by John Jakes”. I’m guessing Historical fiction must be my favorite.

Leave a Reply

