15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 13

15-Day-ChallengeIf you haven’t heard of this challenge by now then you should know it’s so much fun! It was created by the blogger of Good Books, Good Wine and has really been causing me to think of how I run this here old book blog. Now, on to today’s challenge!

Day 13: Describe one underappreciated book EVERYONE should read

This one took some thought as I usually buy popular books just because my interest has been sparked from their promotion.

After some time however, I came up with Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen.

Some of you may say, “What? A classic as an underappreciated pick?” Yes, because surprisingly enough not many people have read it.

Northanger Abbey is often overshadowed by Jane Austen’s more popular woks: Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility and Emma. All of which are great novels but I felt that Northanger Abbey was right up there with them.

I believe it’s one of Austen’s funnier novels and actually one of her more realistic ones also. While I adore Elizabeth Bennett I related much more to Catherine Moreland. I’m not always witty and brave, I sometimes let my imagination get carried away and say the wrong things.

There’s even some slight mocking towards the Bronte sisters with their heavy gothic pieces.

Simply put, Northanger Abbey is just as fun a read as Pride and Prejudice and definitely deserves more attention.

Do you agree with my pick? What would you have chosen? Let me know by commenting below and happy reading!

9 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 13

  1. I intend to read Northanger Abbey soon, perfect time for me to come across this post b/c you’re right—when one thinks of Austen, usually P&P overshadows her other works.

    • Please let me know what you think and yes the minute someone says Jane Austen, people automatically think of P&P which is great, but Northanger Abbey is great too. Thanks for reading!

  2. Pingback: Cellphones and Blogging | This Crazy Time

  3. I’m ashamed to say that this is the only Austen book I have left untouched. Why? Because I watched a BBC production of it on TV a couple of years ago and the title character was so whimsical and dizzy I wanted to strangle her… good choice though 🙂 Sorry Ms. Austen I will get to it one day!

    • I’ve seen a couple of adaptations of Northanger Abbey and have yet to find one that does it justice. I promise that Catherine is much more appealing in the novel, she might be just a bit silly, but that’s what makes it a fun read. I hope you will let me know what you think of it once you do read it. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I am beyond thrilled you chose Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey as your recommended read. I wrote my thesis on this book. It is Austen’s most underrated book and the most fun. Satire at it’s best. I recommend this as the first book someone should read when discovering Jane Austen. I was never a huge fan of Pride and Prejudice. This book though, has always made me smile. It was fun digging deep within the pages and words for my thesis.

    • I’m so glad that someone else understands! While I believe Pride and Prejudice to be Jane Austen’s most romantic novel I believe Northanger Abbey to be Jane Austen’s most fun novel!
      P.S.– I bet it was a GREAT thesis!
      Thanks for reading!

      • How fun! I had to write a paper about Sense and Sensibility but I didn’t enjoy it much. But with Northanger Abbey theres all sort of possibilites and whats even better is that you haven’t heard it all already because most people don’t think to write about it.

Leave a Reply

