Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdayIn the famous word of Snow White, “I’m wishing (I’m wishing) for the one I love, to find me (to find me) today.” In this case (actually in most cases) the one that I love is a book, three in fact.

I came about Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf. Really you’re suppose to just pick one but I can’t pick just one (I know, I’m a rebel), so I have chosen three novels that I can’t wait to get my hands on.

mountainsKhaled Hosseini, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, has written a new novel about how we love, how we take care of one another, and how the choices we make resonate through generations. In this tale revolving around not just parents and children but brothers and sisters, cousins and caretakers, Hosseini explores the many ways in which families nurture, wound, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another; and how often we are surprised by the actions of those closest to us, at the times that matter most. Following its characters and the ramification of their lives and choices and loves around the globe– from Kabul to Paris to San Francisco to the Greek island of Tino– the story expands gradually outward, becoming more emotionally complex and powerful with each turning page.

I’m a huge fan of Khaled Hosseini, having enjoyed both The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns I immediately moved this novel to the top of my wish list. If it is anything like his previous two novels than I know it will be riveting.

stardustIn the sleepy English countryside, at the dawn of the Victorian Era, life moves at a leisurely pace in the tiny town of Wall, so named for an imposing stone barrier that divides the village from an adjacent meadow. Armed sentries guard the sole gap in this wall, in order to keep the curious from wandering through.

Here in Wall, young Tristan Thorn has lost his heart to beautiful Victoria Forester. But Victoria is cold and distant– as distant, in fact, as the star she and Tristan see from the sky on a crisp October evening. For the coveted prize of Victoria’s hand, Tristan vows to retrieve the fallen star and deliver it to his beloved. It is an oath that sends the lovelorn swain over the ancient wall, and propels him into a world that is strange beyond imagining.

But Tristan is not the only one seeking the heavenly jewel. There are those for whom it promises youth and beauty, the key to a kingdom, and the rejuvenation of dark, dormant magics. And a lad compelled by love will have to keep his wits about him to succeed and survive in this secret place where fallen stars come in many guises– and where quests have a way of branching off in unexpected directions, even turning back upon themselves in space and in time.

I absolutely adore the movie, so when I heard that it was also a book I (almost) literally jumped for joy. I know that movies are often different than their book companions but the blurb seems pretty accurate so I’m willing to give it a try.

cuckooA brilliant debut mystery in a classic vein: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel’s suicide. After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.

Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story. His sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to him.

You may think you know detectives but you’ve never met one quite like Strike. You may think you know about the wealthy and famous, but you’ve never seen them under an investigation like this.

Okay, you caught me, I added The Cuckoo’s Calling to my wish list the moment I heard it was written by J.K. Rowling. However, that does not mean that I’m not interested in the novel, which I very much am! I don’t generally go for mystery novels even though I enjoy them so I’m knocking two birds with one stone with this one.

Those are my wishes this Wednesday. What are your wishes? Comment below, the wishing fairy is reading!

4 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday

  1. My partner in crime got me into the graphic novel scene, but one place where we’ve parted paths is over Stardust. If the art isn’t what I consider “good”, then it distracts me from the story. Sad, though, because I also thought the movie was great, but I can’t make myself pick up the graphic novel again…the art. Interested to know your thoughts once you get to it.

    • I didn’t know that it was also a graphic novel, how sad that it did not live up to it’s potential. Yes, I’m very excited to see if the novel is as good as the movie, but I’m hoping that it’s even better!

Leave a Reply

