15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 10

15-Day-ChallengeWell folks, time sure does go by fast. It’s day 10 of this super fun challenge which was created by the blogger of Good Books, Good Wine. So if you would like to know a little more about me then go ahead and keep reading. If you don’t want to know more about me, just pretend you’re reading about someone else. (That’s what I do).

Day 10: How do you choose what book to read next?

Whew! Well it’s a long, complicated process but I’ll try to shorten it up a bit. (I can feel all the grateful looks).

1. I go to my bookshelf. (I could have included the many pit stops on the way to the bookshelf but I promised the shortened version so the shortened version is what you’re going to get).

2. When I finish a book I generally want to move on to a new genre. So I take out all books of the same genre I just read. Now my bookshelf is filled with bright, shining options.

3. An hour or three is spent with me examining each book, reading their blurbs.

4. I close my eyes getting frustrated with my lack of indecision and point my finger at a random book.

5. I open my eyes to see what book I’ve picked. I look at it for 5-7 seconds and shake my head. I take the book off the bookshelf and eliminate it as an option.

(It’s a sad process)

6. I try to make my eyes as big as possible to see if I can see all the books on my bookshelf at once. I can’t.

7. I let out a sigh and determine that all I need is some brain power and decide to go get a snack.

8. I get a snack. (Again, I’m trying to give you the short version)

9. I come back feeling energized and look at my options. Suddenly my energy is gone. I let out another sigh.

10. Finally, totally frustrated now I grab two random books and take them to my mom.

11. I ask her to pick one.

12. She picks one.

13. I go back to my room and start reading the one she didn’t pick. (Not because I don’t trust her judgement, because it’s the law of the mother/daughter relationship.)

*Repeat process when finished with book

I did my best to give you guys the short version. Trust me, I could have gone on much longer… How do you choose which book to read next? Comment below and happy reading!

4 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 10

  1. If the book I just finished was a light, fun and easy to read, then I try to pick something more challenging like poetry or an adult novel (I prefer to read YA fiction). After a dystopian novel, for example, I may read a lighthearted YA romantic comedy. I try to change it up so I still read the chunkier, more meaty books, but I try to sprinkle them in with the fun stuff so I don’t find myself giving up on reading because it’s too hard or too much work. (:

  2. Haha – I totally used to do that, snack break, mom decision, and all. I could go back and forth for hours. Now I tend to have some slightly more driving factors: read what’s coming up for book club, I really wanted to read the next book in THAT series, my cat pointed at this one the other day, I just read a really good post/comment about that one …

    I also currently have a completely separate bookshelf (4 levels) filled with books on my to-read shelf. Everything that I don’t want to read soon or have already read is out on my primary bookshelves. Everything that I plan on reading at some point in the relatively near future is in my room on this special shelf. So sometimes I just choose at random from there … This system is beginning to break down: I’m out of room on all of my shelves …

    (and yes, I’m going through your recent posts catching up after the week of chaos, why do you ask?)

    • I absolutely love the idea of a TBR book shelf, its GENIUS!!! Of course I would run into the same problem of running out of room on the bookshelf but still, GENIUS!!!

      (And I hope your week of chaos was chaos in a good way)

Leave a Reply

