Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdayIn the famous word of Snow White, “I’m wishing (I’m wishing) for the one I love, to find me (to find me) today.” In this case (actually in most cases) the one that I love is a book, three in fact.

I came about Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf. Really you’re suppose to just pick one but I can’t pick just one (I know, I’m a rebel), so I have chosen three novels that I can’t wait to get my hands on.

menRaised in a two-room shack by her strict Oklahoma grandfather, Gin Mitchell knows a better life awaits her when she marries hometown hero Mason McPhee. Even so, nothing can prepare her for what’s to come when Mason takes a job with the Arabian American Oil Company in 1960s Saudi Arabia.

Gin and Mason are given a home with marble floors, a houseboy to cook their meals, and a gardener to ten the sandy patch out back. Even among the veiled women and strict laws of shariah, Gin’s life has become the stuff of fairy tales. But when a body of a young Bedouin woman washes up on the shores of the Persian Gulf and Mason disappears, her world starts to close in around her.

Ever since I read Khaled Hosseini I have become extremely interested in the ordinary lives of people living in the middle east and this novel promises just that. I want to understand the world or at least become aware of what is going on around me and fiction is the best way to do it. Also, as a female especially, I believe it important to read this novel.

wonderAnn Patchett raises the bar with State of Wonder, a provocative and ambitious novel set deep in the Amazon jungle.

Research scientist Dr. Marina Singh is sent to Brazil to track down her former mentor, Dr. Annick Swenson, who seems to have disappeared in the Amazon while working on an extremely valuable new drug. The last person who was sent to find her died before he could complete the mission. Plagued by trepidation, Marina embarks on an odyssey into the insect-infested jungle in hopes of finding answers to the questions about her friend’s death, her company’s future, and her own past.

Once found, Dr. Swenson is as imperious and uncompromising as ever. But while she is as threatening as anything the jungle has to offer, the greatest sacrifices to be made are the ones Dr. Swenson asks of herself, and will ultimately ask of Marina.

State of Wonder is a world unto itself, where unlikely beauty stands beside unimaginable loss. It is a tale that leads the reader in to the very heart of darkness, and then shows us what lies on the other side.

Can you guess what’s on my bucket list? That’s right, see the amazon jungle (funny because I’m not even remotely an outdoorsy person). The jungle offers so much mystery and exoticness (is the even a word?). So to satisfy my jungle craving (for now) I’ll settle for State of Wonder.

rainEnzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated him by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver.

Through Denny, Enzo has gained tremendous insight into the human condition, and he sees that life, like racing, isn’t simply about going fast. On the eve of his death, Enzo takes stock of his life, recalling all that he and his family have been through.

A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope. The Art of Racing in the Rain is a beautifully crafted and captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life… as only a dog could tell it.

I don’t think I’ve told you guys yet, but I LOVE dogs! However I usually don’t pick up books about dogs because most authors insist on killing off the dog (something I will never understand). But The Art of Racing in the Rain takes the point of view of a dog, which leaves me feeling that even thought the dog dies at the end of the novel, it won’t be quite as sad as meaningful. (At least that’s what I’m hoping)!

Those are my wishes this Wednesday. What are your wishes? Comment below, the wishing fairy is reading!

4 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday

  1. I’ve read The Art of Racing in the Rain and I must tell you… It is an amazing book. It is a simple story but fun as you really do understand how the author manages to tell the story as if he is the dog. Let me know what you think of it when you read it! Cheers

Leave a Reply

