Sidetracked

tracksSo if you don’t already know, I am reading To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, which by the way has been keeping me laughing (can we all have a child narrate our lives?) but I must say that today I got sidetracked and then sidetracked some more. This is how my day went.

I woke up and did the usual, fumbled for a bowl, spoon and cereal. Waited until my sister was finished pouring a glass of milk, fixed up my cereal and sat at the table staring mindlessly while spooning myself substance.

My mind started wandering, I began thinking how awful it is that I have to get my own cereal (mornings are not my best moments) and how great it would be if I had a maid…and how I would make a HORRIBLE maid. Which led me to think of The Help by Kathryn Stockett. It sounded so good at the moment but I was conflicted because I was already duty bound to read To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee…but would it hurt to read The Help if I did it fast? I decided to make a mental note dig up that novel later.

After breakfast I join the rest of the family in the living room still trying to wake up enough to decide what I’m going to do for the rest of the day. A couple of hours passed in this manner. Finally I realize I’m watching a commercial for The Ringley Brothers which suddenly gave me a hankering for Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. But then I think I really shouldn’t, I need to read To Kill a Mockingbird which I am enjoying! I’ll just get through Night Circus really fast and nobody will know the difference. With a nod at no one in particular (which some family members found odd) I set off to my room.

I make straight for my book shelf (which holds more than just books) and take out Night Circus. But now there’s the matter of where I’m going to read it, I look around my room and think I found a spot, when my eyes stop on my mickey mouse ears I got from Disneyland last year. I smile and put the book back as I make my way over to the ears as if touching them will bring back that day. It reminds me of my love for amusement parks.

What’s better than an amusement park? Why, a park full of dinosaurs that’s what.

Immediately I scour my room for Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton when I remember it’s not in my room, I leant it to my sister Hayley. Well, now she’s done with it I decided.

Are you still keeping up?

I head to Hayley’s room, trying not to glance at anything for fear of getting further sidetracked, when I walk in and Hayley has Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone playing.

Well, flip!

I tell Hayley I’ll be right back (who didn’t even realize I had entered the room) head back to my room (because I lend my Harry Potter books to no one) and come to a full stop. My dad is standing in front of me holding my copy of To Kill a Mockingbird saying I left it in the living room.

Then I remember the part I left off at; it was the part where it snows in Maycomb for the first time in years and Scout thinks the world is ending. I smile and realize I want nothing more than to read To Kill a Mockingbird.

So I came in full circle, but I guess that’s why they call it “the circle of life” oh wait, I don’t think that means the same thing.

Have you ever had any days like this? Where multiple books are tugging at your hearts strings and you’re cursing the fact you were born with only one set of eyes? Let me know and in the meantime happy reading!

8 thoughts on “Sidetracked

  1. This sounds slightly like my day in which I woke up thinking that I really needed to finish Delia’s Shadow today since Tor was so kind as to give me access to the ARC on Netgalley for review purposes…but then I started reading Addicted to You while I waited on coffee to brew, just to see what the what the writing was like since it’s a debut NA, and that utterly sucked me in and before I knew it two hours had passed and then I was like I’ll just put it down and watch some tv for a bit…and 9 hours later I am still watching Friday Night Lights and playing Sims. So yes. I do things like this too lol.

  2. I’ve had days like that but in my case it’s usually me having to choose between reading a book or watching a movie or going out. 🙂
    Nice to hear that you are enjoying the book. I loved the characters in it.

  3. This was so funny! Yes, I do have days like that, but if you keep a different book in each room you will always have something to read at hand. The problem is there are just so many books in my TBR pile and on my Kindle, not to forget to mention on my Amazon wish list. Yes, I think I do have those days. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

