15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 5

15-Day-ChallengeThis challenge was created by the lovely blogger of Good Books, Good Wine. I can’t believe we are already a third into the challenge. But here we are whether I believe it or not and so on to today’s challenge.

Day 5: Recommend a tear jerker

An easy one today. I don’t particularly like to read ‘sad’ novels because countless authors think ‘sad’ means killing off a character you have come to love (Where the Red Fern Grows, I’m looking at you). I don’t appreciate it when the author’s purpose is to make the reader cry, that means the story lacks depth.

A tear jerker to me is a novel that explores the human condition, what it can take and what it can’t take. For this I have an excellent novel to recommend, A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.

sunsA Thousand Splendid Suns is a breathtaking story set against the volatile events of Afghanistan’s last thirty years, from the Soviet invasion to the reign of the Taliban to post-Taliban rebuilding, that puts the violence, fear, hope and faith of this country in intimate, human terms. It is a tale of two generations of characters brought jarringly together by the tragic sweep of war, where personal lives, the struggle to survive, raise a family, find happiness, are inextricable from the history playing out around them.

Propelled by the same storytelling instinct that made The Kite Runner a beloved classic, A Thousand Splendid Suns is at once a remarkable chronicle of three decades of Afghan history and a deeply moving account of family and friendship. It is a striking, heart wrenching novel of an unforgiving time, an unlikely friendship, and an indestructible love, a stunning accomplishment.

This story is so much more than a tear jerker, it’s a tale about the hardships of life, of women strong enough to face those hardships. Read it. Read it and tell me what you think. I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

6 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 5

  1. I’d been debating about reading that one a while back. I am reminded that I should go see if my library has it, now that I have a handy dandy library card!

    (and I am now caught up on your posts)

Leave a Reply

