Friday Favorites

Friday Favorites 02I stumbled upon this meme at the adorable blog, Tessa’s Wishful Endings. Really it’s as simple as the name; you talk about a favorite book related subject on Fridays. It could be anything from favorite authors, books and genres to favorite reading spots, opening sentences and love triangles. Basically the world of novels is our oyster and with Friday Favorites, we can conquer it.

Today, I would like to talk about favorite reading snacks.

I don’t know about any of you, but reading is the one thing that will keep me from eating. It’s not so much that I don’t hear (or feel) the growling stomach it’s that I would rather finish the page…and then the chapter…and then the book. By the time that happens I’m starving and have a humongous headache.

That is why when I’m about to settle in with my novel I like to have a snack in the immediate area just in case I get hungry. But believe or not, choosing a favorite reading snack is an exact science. Not every snack is compatible with reading, in fact many are not.

Let’s start with a basic list of snacks:

*Crackers *Chips *Apples *Bananas *Grapes *Granola Bars *Candy *Popcorn *Nuts *Yogurt *Cheese Sticks *Jello *Pudding *Pizza *Hambugers

(Sorry, I started letting my stomach do the writing)

You want to choose a snack that will allow you to focus on the novel while you eat it (the snack, not the novel). So we can cross out all snacks that would require both hands.

*Crackers *Chips *Apples *Bananas *Grapes *Granola Bars *Candy *Popcorn *Nuts *Yogurt *Cheese Sticks *Jello *Pudding

Next you want to account for easy accessibility. What’s the point of bringing a snack to your reading spot if you’re just going to have to get up again and throw away the wrapper. With this in mind let’s take another look at our list of (oh so yummy) snacks.

*Crackers *Chips *Apples *Bananas *Grapes *Granola Bars *Candy *Popcorn *Nuts *Cheese Sticks

(Give me a moment while I grieve for the candy)

Is your favorite snack still on the list?

I have one more consideration that I take in: dirty fingertips. Whether reading an actual book or an e-reader you don’t want to leave smudges and this includes anything salty, gooey, and juicy.

(You’re about to discover my favorite snack).

*Crackers *Chips *Apples *Grapes *Popcorn *Nuts

That’s right, MY FAVORITE READING SNACK IS GRAPES!

(Preferably green, seedless and cold)

Pros

  • Easily accessible
  • Leaves clean finger tips
  • Nourishing
  • Refreshing

Cons

  • Not candy
  • Has a potential problematic bathroom effect

What are some of your favorite reading snacks?

 

 

Related articles

6 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. I also find it necessary to pick a snack that, if I lose track of time and end up eating nothing but that for a whole afternoon, I won’t get an upset stomach. Or feel like I really shouldn’t have skimped on real food. For that reason, I often end up with a cereal box in bed with me … Drove my mother nuts back in high school, but hey, she always knew where to find the Cheerios …

  2. How about a smoothie. Nice and cold. You can sip on it or drink it quickly. Pros: good for you, refreshing, mindless sipping while reading. Cons: cleaning up after the smoothie has dried on the sides of the glass.

Leave a Reply

