Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdayIt’s that time again. The wishing fairy is out collecting wishes for books so it’s time to let her know what’s collecting dust on my wish list.

I came upon Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf. Really you’re suppose to just pick one but I can’t pick just one (I know I’m a rebel), so I have chosen three novels that I can’t wait to get my hands on.

graceling  Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight– she;s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work king’s thug.

She never expected to fall in love with beautiful Prince Po.

She never expects to learn the truth behind her Grace– or the terrible secret that lies hidden far away…a secret that could destroy all seven kingdoms with words alone.

With elegant, evocative prose and a cast of unforgettable characters, debut author Kristin Cashore creates a mesmerizing world, a death-defying adventure, and a heart-racing romance that will consume you, hold you captive, and leave you wanting more.

I won’t lie to all of you (maybe some of you, but not all of you)– the moment I saw this cover I added Graceling to my wish list. The cover is so (forgive me a moment while I sound like the girl that I am) pretty!!! But also it promises an epic tale– and those are my favorite kind! I want adventures, tragedy and true love and it doesn’t matter to me if I have to read it all through the point of view of a teenager. Please let it be good enough to attract the wishing fairy’s attention!

0-545-05474-5Marcelo Sandoval hears music no one else can hear– part of the autism-like impairment no doctor has been able to identify– and he’s always attended a special school where his differences have been protected. But the summer after his junior year, his father demands that Marcelo work in his law firm’s mailroom in order to experience “the real world”. There Marcelo meets Jasmine, his beautiful coworker, and Wendell, the son of another partner in the firm.

He learns about competition and jealousy, anger and desire. But it’s a picture he finds in a file– a picture of a girl with half a face– that truly  connects him with the real world: its suffering, its injustice, and what he can do to fight.

Honestly, I don’t know exactly what it is about this book that appeals to me; I just know that I really, really (really) want to read it. I guess if I had to pin point one exact thing it would  be that I have never read something like this before. I usually don’t read about modern “real” life (I like a little extra juice) but when I was browsing on Barnes and Noble’s website, this novel caught my eye. I read what it was about and realized it wasn’t the typical novel I go for and clicked away. After browsing through several other novels I found myself searching for Marcelo in the Real World. I knew then that I simply HAD to read it.

diary

Bridget Jones Diary follows the fortunes of a single girl on an optimistic but doomed quest for self-improvement. Cheered by feminist ranting with her friends Jude, Shazzer and ‘hag-fag’ Tom, humiliated at Smug Marrieds’ dinner parties, crazed by parental attempts to fix her up with a rich divorcee in a diamond-patterned sweater, Bridget lurches from torrid affair to pregnancy-scare convinced that if she could just get down 8st 7, stop smoking and develop Inner Poise, all would be resolved.

I have been in love with the movie forever but only recently learned that it was a book also! Well, of course this made me insanely happy as books are always better than their movie adaptations and thus Bridget Jones Diary has been on my wish list ever since. I especially adore that it is a parody on Pride and Prejudice. (Also especially adore the fact that Colin Firth plays both Darcys’)!

So those are my three wishes. I would love to hear any feed back on my picks or any novels that are resting on your wish list. Now is the time to share, the wishing fairy is listening.

6 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday

Leave a Reply

