Deserted Island Interview

islandI had the weirdest dream last night and so of course, my first instinct was to share it with all of you (I hope you feel loved).

In my dream I was being interviewed (why, I don’t know, dreams are not supposed to make sense) and one of the questions asked was, “If you were going to be stranded on a deserted island, what five books would you bring and why?” As you can imagine this lead to a long ordeal of which it would be better to show you rather than explain to you.

*Entering dream* (Bear with me).

Interviewer: “Well Lindsey, that about wraps  it up today but we can’t let you go without asking the question our viewers want to hear. If you were going to be stranded on a deserted island, what five books would you bring with you and why?”

Me: [Blank stare] “Five books? As in JUST five books?”

Interviewer: “Correct, five books.”

Me: “As in ‘The Five Little Piggies’ song, that’s the number five we are talking about?”

Interviewer: “Yes.”

Me: “Well can a series count as one of the five slots?”

Interviewer: “No, I’m afraid not. One book per slot and I am afraid you are going to have to answer soon–“

Me: “ONE book per slot? But– my– the Harry Potter series has seven books, I won’t survive without them.”

Interviewer: “I would like to remind you that you are pressed for time and please take into consideration that your survival is not literally at stake–“

Me: “Okay, okay I’m thinking!!!” [Starts to sweat nervously] “Okay, I’ll take Harry Potter #3, 4 and 7.”

Interviewer: “So that leaves two slots open.”

Me: “Aaaaahhhh! That’s not enough– uhmmm… [looks at the clock and cringes] “Wait– I’m thinking!!!”

Interviewer: “Lindsey we really can’t wait that much longer and it really isn’t that big–“

Me: “I GOT IT! Okay, Pride and Prejudice, Night Circus, and Harry Potter #3,4, and 7.”

Interviewer: “Interesting choices. Thank you for participating–“

Me: “What do you mean by interesting?”

Interviewer: “Nothing I–“

Me: “No, you’re right, those weren’t good choices.”

Interviewer: “They were fine choices…”

Me: “WAIT! I-take-that-back-I-changed-my-mind!!! I want to take out Night Circus–“

Interviewer: “We are really running out of–“

Me: “–and exchange that with The Fault in Our Stars!”

Interviewer: “Fantastic. It’s been a pleasure–“

Me: “No, that’s not right either! I GOT IT!!!”

Interviewer: “I’m sorry Lindsey, we’ve run out–“

Me: “What I would do is–“

Interviewer: “We simply don’t have any more–“

Me: “I would bring Harry Potter #3,4, and 7–“

Interviewer: “Lindsey! We don’t have–“

Me: “Pride and Prejudice–“

Interviewer: [Turns to camera] “Cut! Now–“

Me: “–and my mom’s E-Reader!” [Smiles triumphantly] “Now I can read all the Harry Potter books.”

Interviewer: [Blank stare] “Thank you for your time.”

Me: “My pleasure!”

So that was my dream, I woke up breathing fast, as if I had to really choose five books to read for the rest of my life. Are you glad I shared? What five books would you choose?

8 thoughts on “Deserted Island Interview

  1. I would have awakened breathing fast, as well!

    Ah, to be forced to choose ONLY five books! I don’t know which ones I’d choose, but Pride and Prejudice would definitely be one of them. But beyond that, I can NOT decide!

  2. Five is so few… I’d go with “Ulysses” by James Joyce, “The Brothers Karamazov” by Dostoevsky, “Dune” by Frank Herbert, “Pale Fire” by Nabokov, and “The HitchHiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” by Douglas Adams. The first four are selected because of complexity and re-readability. The Hitchhiker’s Guide would be to give me a sense of humor and perspective on the situation.

Leave a Reply

