Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist WednesdaySo this is me…hopping on the bandwagon. (Stop your smirking). Memes are ever so popular and fun but I had yet to find one that really appealed to me, that is until I came upon Wishlist Wednesday hosted by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper. (Please check out their blog, it’s awesome).

Wishlist Wednesday is a meme that allows you to turn the spotlight on a few books that have been sitting on your get-to-eventually list for a while. Books that you dream of claiming their rightful spots on your bookshelf. Really you’re suppose to just pick one but I can’t pick just one (I know I’m a rebel), so I have chosen three novels that I can’t wait to get my hands on.

brontesThe Bronte Sisters are among the most beloved writers of all time, best known for their classic nineteenth-century novels Jane Eyre (Charlotte), Wuthering Heights (Emily), and Agnes Grey (Anne). In this sometimes heartbreaking young adult biography, Catherine Reef explores the turbulent lives of these literary siblings and the oppressive times in which they lived. Bronte fans will also revel in the insights into their favorite novels, the plethora of poetry, and the outstanding collection of more than sixty black-and-white archival images. A powerful testimony to the life of the mind.

Is it wrong that I want to read this when I haven’t read a single novel by any of the Bronte sisters? I’ve heard a great deal about their work and many of their novels are on my get-to-eventually list (which seems to grow every day) but I really want to read The Bronte Sisters before anything else. I think its extraordinary that all three grew up to be authors especially in the times they lived in; can’t wait to get my hands on this novel!

preyIn the Nevada desert, an experiment has gone horribly wrong. A cloud of nanoparticles– micro-robots– has escaped from the laboratory. This cloud is self-sustaining and self-reproducing. It is intelligent and learns from experience. For all practical purposes, it is alive.

It has been programmed as a predator. It is evolving swiftly, becoming more deadly with each passing hour. Every attempt to destroy it has failed.

And we are the prey.

Ever since I read Jurassic Park I’ve been obsessed with the way Michael Crichton can shove all this science at you (not a subject that I even pretend to understand) and not only have it make sense, but also make it incredibly interesting. I know I will probably have nightmares after reading Prey , but with Michael Crichton’s novels it’s always worth it. Can’t wait to make this wish a reality.

fortuneIn 1866, tragedy strikes at the exclusive Windfield School. A young student drowns in a mysterious accident involving a small circle of boys. The drowning and its aftermath initiates a spiraling circle of treachery that will span three decades and entwine many loves… From the exclusive men’s club and brothels that cater to every dark desire of London’s upper classes to the dozing ballrooms and mahogany-paneled suites of the manipulators of the world’s wealth, Ken Follett conjures up a stunning array of contrasts. This breathtaking novel portrays a family splintered by lust, bound by a shared legacy… men and women swept toward a perilous climax where greed, fed by the shocking truth of a boy’s death, must be stopped, or not just one man’s dreams, but those of a nation, will die…

I have yet to read a Ken Follett novel that I didn’t love, he is a brilliant author that can truly make a story surround you. All of his novels that I have yet to read are on my wish list but A Dangerous Fortune is the highest because it sounds like something Follett has not written before, a conspiracy novel. A conspiracy novel that is told well can make for an excellent weekend. So my wish for the wishing fairy is to receive A Dangerous Fortune (preferably with some chocolate).

That’s what I’m wishing for on this Wednesday, three excellent novels that promise a good time. What’s on your wish list?

Related articles

7 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday

  1. Thanks for the ping on my blog! I tend to avoid the bandwagon too but, yes, you’re right that memes are great social fun.

    All three Bronte sisters wrote books I liked, although I have to be in a certain mood for older classics. The Brontes had interesting and dark lives.

Leave a Reply

