Just a Peek…

end

Hello fellow book lovers (hope that’s not presumptuous). I am in need of some clarity. I’m in the middle of reading The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest and it is just overflowing with twists and turns. (Those tend to pop up in mystery novels). My problem is that I will be caught up in a very suspenseful part and with no self-control (cheeks blush with shame) my eyes skip to the end of the paragraph to assure myself.

A little annoyed with myself I carry on, steeling myself against further temptations until I get to such a suspenseful part that I find myself a moment later flipping TO THE END OF THE NOVEL and reading the last page.

So now I know how this novel ends and I am miffed! Why did I do that? I hate spoilers but I really had no control over the urge- one minute there was a gut-wrenching feeling in my stomach and the next I’m kicking myself (not literally, I’m a baby when it comes to pain) for skipping to the end.

Now of course I am going to finish the novel as I have to discover why it ended the way it did. My question (it took me long enough) is does this same utterly helpless urge happen to you? And if so, how do you fight it? Any tricks, tips or spells would be most graciously welcomed. In the meantime check out some of my favorite posts today:

http://vanmaclellan.wordpress.com/2013/06/06/hi-ho-hi-ho-its-off-to-fillory-we-go/

http://emilyjanuary.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/hemingway-week-for-whom-the-bell-tolls/

http://busyteacher.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/novel-ideas-europe-5-learning-german/

4 thoughts on “Just a Peek…

  1. haha, I have done this, but it’s not a regular occurrence. I hate being spoiled too, so jumping ahead isn’t for me. I find that if I’m really worried about a character’s well-being, then I have to put the book down and walk away. Then, I pick it up again, usually in about 5 or 10 minutes.

    Good luck!

  2. Haha yeah sometimes I find myself trying to read LIGHTNING FAST to try to get to the truth! But… that’s a really rotten strategy. I have to catch myself and make myself take a little breather. If a book is really intense, I’ll find myself closing the book after every chapter, or every page. I have thrown books, and I have yelled at books for being so suspenseful (I am not crazy…) but I have never skipped to the end. I have definitely done that with TV shows; I did it with prison break, but for some reason I could never do that to a book. I feel like the book would be mad at me and be like, “WE HAD A DEAL!” and from then on if something bad happens I’ll think the book is punishing me for my infidelity…

Leave a Reply

